Navigation überspringen

 
(Notebooks)

(NOTEBOOKS) (The Basis of Make-Up I-III) Heinz Emigholz, D 1974-83/ 1995-2000/ 1986-2004, 94 min

The Basis of Make-Up I, Photography and beyond - Part 1
The Basis of Make-Up II, Photography and beyond - Part 4
The Basis of Make-Up III, Photography and beyond - Part 9

The films THE BASIS OF MAKE-UP (I-III) are the centre about which Emigholz' feature films revolve.

THE BASIS OF MAKE-UP I Featured are forty-two of Heinz Emigholz's illustratred notebooks from 1974 to 1983, a notebook of Heinrich Emigholz dated 1941, a sketchbook from the 70s, twenty-four photographs from 100 Hudson Street, 240 President Street, 325 West 11th Street, Kleine Reichenstrasse 2, 36 Sherman Street, 236 Elizabeth Street, 29 John Street and Zippelhaus 6. In addition, there are eighty drawings from the series ›Die Basis des Make-Up‹ as positives and negatives.

THE BASIS OF MAKE-UP II Featured are sixty-nine of Heinz Emigholz's illustrated notebooks from 1983 to 1996, three sketch books from the 80s and 90s, and cinematic studies of his exhibition "Der Untergang der Bismarck" at the Zwinger Gallery, Berlin 1988, a castle moat in Riva, Italy 1997, a casting of Aguste Rodin's "The Gates of Hell" in front of the Kunsthaus in Zürich 1988, an olive grove near Norma in Italy 1995, a magnolia tree in Basle 1996, burnt meat at Cabo de Creus in the Pyrennees 1988, an intersection in Owatonna, Minnesota 1995, and a house underpass in Giesshübelstrasse, Zurich 1996. In addition, there are 184 drawings from the series "Die Basis des Make-Up" as positives and negatives. The writings and visual representations are the property and legacy of a person who appears in the film "The Holy Bunch" as an editor, in "Second Nature" as a fashion designer, and in "Black Harbour" as a charcoal burner.

THE BASIS OF MAKE-UP III The film shows thirty-eight of Heinz Emigholz's notebooks and sketchbooks from 1996 to 2004: cinematic studies of marble inlays on the memorial slabs in the Johannes Cathedral in Valetta, Malta in 2004; of Skull Rock in Joshua Tree Desert in California, which gave the series its title; of Cerro Castellan in Big Bend National Park in Texas; of a rock shop in Quartzsite, Arizona that sells remnants from the glass factory in Henryetta as "gems from Mexico"; scenes from Bartlesville in Oklahoma; a tree covered with shoes on Highway 62 in California in 2002; and, in Gabriele D'Annunzio's Villa Cargnacco in Gardone, Italy in 1997, the mask merchant's room, the reliquary room, the workshop, the globe room, the Apollinian veranda, the room of the Cheli, and the Zambracca.

read more... hide...

Quotations

Press Coverage

In the rapid sequence of shots, however, the pages divide themselves; their entirely undramatic concatenation during the editing process sees them reduced to parts, to particles, which nevertheless open themselves up to one another – immediately and directly – and whose formal idiosyncrasies foment a strangely seductive »game with history«. (Museum für Gegenwart Magazin, Marc Ries) read more...

Awards and Festivals

Navigation überspringen

 
The Basis of Make-Up I-III

THE BASIS OF MAKE-UP I-III Heinz Emigholz, D 1974-83/ 1995-2000/ 1986-2004, 94 min

The Basis of Make-Up I,
Photographie und jenseits - Teil 1
The Basis of Make-Up II,
Photographie und jenseits - Teil 4
The Basis of Make-Up III, Photographie und jenseits - Teil 9

Die Filme THE BASIS OF MAKE-UP (I-III) stellen den Kern dar, um den Emigholz' Filme kreisen.

THE BASIS OF MAKE-UP I Darsteller sind zweiundvierzig bebilderte Notizbücher von Heinz Emigholz aus den Jahren 1974 bis 1983, ein Notizbuch von Heinrich Emigholz aus dem Jahr 1941, ein grosses Skizzenbuch aus den 70er Jahren, zwei Dutzend Fotografien aus 100 Hudson Street, 240 President Street, 325 West 11th Street, Kleine Reichenstrasse 2, 36 Sherman Street, 236 Elizabeth Street, 29 John Street und Zippelhaus 6, sowie achtzig Zeichnungen aus der Serie ›Die Basis des Make-Up‹ in Positiv und Negativ.

THE BASIS OF MAKE-UP II Darsteller sind neunundsechzig bebilderte Notizbücher von Heinz Emigholz aus den Jahren 1983 bis 1996, drei Skizzenbücher aus den 80er und 90er Jahren, filmische Studien seiner Ausstellung ›Der Untergang der Bismarck‹ in der Zwinger Galerie, Berlin 1988, eines Burggrabens im italienischen Riva 1997, eines Abdrucks von Auguste Rodins ›Pforten zur Hölle‹ vor dem Kunsthaus in Zürich 1988, eines Olivenhains bei Norma in Italien 1995, eines Magnolienbaums in Basel 1996, von verbranntem Fleisch am Cabo de Creus in den Pyrenäen 1988, einer Strassenkreuzung in Owatonna, Minnesota, 1995, und einer Hausdurchfahrt an der Zürcher Giesshübelstrasse 1996, sowie einhundertvierundachtzig Zeichnungen aus der Serie ›Die Basis des Make-Up‹ in Positiv und Negativ. Der Inhalt der Darstellungen ist das Vermächtnis einer Person, die in dem Film ›Der Zynische Körper‹ als Lektor, in ›No Safe Haven‹ als Modefotograf und in dem weiteren Film ›Schwarzer Hafen‹ als Köhler auftritt.

THE BASIS OF MAKE-UP III Der Film zeigt zeigt 38 Notiz- und Skizzenbücher von Heinz Emigholz aus den Jahren 1996 bis 2004, filmische Studien von Marmorintarsien auf den Grabplatten in der Johanneskathedrale zu Valletta auf Malta 2004, des "Skull Rock" in der Yoshua Tree Wüste in Kalifornien, der der Serie ihren Titel gab, des Cerro Castellan im Big Bend National Park in Texas, eines Rock Shops in Quartzsite, Arizona, der die Reste der Glasfabrik in Henryetta als "Gems aus Mexico" verkauft, Szenen aus Bartlesville in Oklahoma, einen Turnschuhbaum am Highway 62 in Kalifornien, USA 2002, und die Räume ›Zimmer des Maskenverkäufers, Reliquienzimmer, Werkstatt, Zimmer der Weltkugel, Apollinische Veranda, Zimmer der Cheli und Zambracca‹ in Gabriele d'Annunzios Villa Cargnacco in Gardone, Italien 1997.

mehr... weniger...

Zitate

Pressestimmen

In der schnellen Abfolge der Einstellungen jedoch teilen sich die Seiten selbst, erfahren in der wiederum völlig undramatischen Reihung im Schnitt eine Reduktion zum Teil, zum Partikel, die jedoch für die Betrachtung sich sofort und unmittelbar zueinander hin öffnen, über ihre formalen Eigenschaften aufeinander verweisen und ein seltsam-verführerisches ‚Spiel mit Geschichte‘ beginnen zu lassen. (Museum für Gegenwart Magazin, Marc Ries) mehr...

Preise und Festivals