Navigation überspringen

The Airstrip – Decampment of Modernism, Part III

THE AIRSTRIP – DECAMPMENT OF MODERNISM, PART III (The Airstrip – Aufbruch der Moderne, Teil III) Heinz Emigholz, D 2014, 108 min

Photography and beyond – Part 21 / Decampment of Modernism – Part III. After PARABETON and PERRET IN FRANCE AND ALGERIA the third part of the series.

Copyright Berlinale, Forum 2014

About the film
Imagine an airspace into which a bomb has been dropped. The bomb has not reached the site of its detonation, but there is no way to stop its speedy approach. The time between the bomb’s release and its explosion is neither the future (for the ineluctable destruction has not yet happened) nor the past (which is unavoidably about to be extinguished). The flight time of the bomb thus describes absolute nothingness, the zero hour, consisting of all the possibilities that in just a moment will no longer exist. Thus, this story will end before it has begun; here it is told in defiance: an architectural journey from Berlin through Arromanches, Rome, Wrocław, Görlitz, Paris, Bologna, Madrid, Buenos Aires, Atlántida, Montevideo, Mexico City, Brasilia, Tokyo, Saipan, Tinian, Tokyo, San Francisco, Dallas, Binz and Mexico City back to Berlin – into the abyss.

Buildings and sculptures
The film The Airstrip was shot from March 2011 to June 2012 in Germany, Italy, France, Spain, Argentina, Uruguay, Mexico, Brazil, the United States, the Northern Mariana Islands and Japan. It shows the following buildings and sculptures:

Prometheus Bound (1899) by Reinhold Begas in Berlin, Germany
Mulberry Harbour (1944) by Winston S. Churchill in Arromanches, France
Pantheon (2nd century AD) in Rome, Italy
Hala Ludowa (1913) by Max Berg in Wrocław, Poland
Department Store (1913) by Carl Schmanns in Görlitz, Germany
La Vache Noir Shopping Centre (2000s) in Arceuil, France
Gustave Eiffel Monument (1928) by Auguste Perret in Paris, France
Market Hall (1953) by Renato Bernadi in Bologna, Italy
Madrid Airport
Mercado de Abasto
Shopping Centre (1934) by Viktor Sulčič in Buenos Aires, Argentina
La Bombonera Stadium (1940) by Viktor Sulčič and José Luis Delpini in Buenos Aires, Argentina
Three Mausoleums (1930s and ’40s) by Viktor Sulčič on the Recoletta Cemetery in Buenos Aires, Argentina
Parochial Church (1960) by Eladio Dieste in Atlántida, Uruguay
Warehouse (1979) by Eladio Dieste in Montevideo, Uruguay
Montevideo Airport
Las Arboledas
(1958-63) by Luis Barragán in Mexico City, Mexico
Double House (1937) by Luis Barragán in Mexico City, Mexico
Towers on the Queretaro Highway (1958) by Luis Barragán and Mathias Goeritz in Mexico City, Mexico
The End of a Highway (2012) in Mexico City, Mexico
Mexico City Airport
Italian Embassy
(1959) by Pier Luigi and Antonio Nervi in Brasilia, Brazil
Brasilia Airport
Tokyo Airport
Japanese Prison
(1930s) in Garapan on Saipan, Northern Marianas
La Fiesta Shopping Centre (1990s) on Saipan, Northern Marianas
Monument on the Banzai Suicide Cliffs (1953) on Saipan, Northern Marianas
Saipan Airport
Northfield Memorial
(1985) on Tinian, Northern Marianas
Tokyo Airport
Saint Mary’s Cathedral
(1971) by Pier Luigi Nervi in San Francisco, California
Dallas Airport
Bus Stop
(1967) by Ulrich Müther in Binz, Germany
Cathedral (1573-1813) in Mexico City, Mexico
Neptune Fountain (1891) by Reinhold Begas in Berlin, Germany

Musikvideos SUN, ROTE WÜSTE und MOTH RACE by Heinz Emigholz for KREIDLER
Premiere of the music video MOTH RACE at
"MuVi-Preis für das beste deutsche Musikvideo" for MOTH RACE at the Film Festival Oberhausen 2013


Don’t ask about sunshine.
A saying of my father Heinrich Emigholz

A Journey to Saipan

I can name the exact moment. It was the afternoon of 23 October 2010 when, after all those years, I resolved to fly to the Northern Mariana Islands, to Saipan, from there to cross over to Tinian. Those who not only have heard of Pearl Harbor, but also wince at the names of Midway, Wake, Marcus, Marshall, Kwajalein, Eniwetok, Gilbert, Truk, Iwo Jima, Attu, Kiska, the Salomons, Bougainville, Rabaul, Ulithi, Guadalcanal, Espiritu Santo, Guam, Palau, Mindanao, Luzon, Tarawa and Okinawa, will understand this decision. I confess that I owe my life to the first two atom bombs and, as a German, to the Japanese fanaticism that led to their being dropped on Japan. But now I wanted to be where it all culminated, in the western Pacific. I felt like a turtle that swims back thousands of miles to the place of its birth to bury its eggs in the sand – on the beach where many soldiers had to die, soldiers to whom I owed my life and a childhood sheltered by the balance of terror.
Life, if it lasts long enough, is easier to narrate as a frame tale. This literary form was conceived to propagate meaning, even if, as solace, it consists solely of distant echoes. In the 1950s, the two cinemas in our small town – the Corso and the Odeon – were full of American B movies about the war in the Pacific. Alternating with films with Fuzzy, these black-and-white films could be seen there almost every Sunday. My first confrontation with Anatahan, by Josef von Sternberg, later my favourite film and favourite director, also came at this time. The first face of an actor that lastingly inscribed itself in my consciousness, along with that of Al St. John as ‘Fuzzy’, was Lee Marvin’s, who appeared in many of these films as the sturdy rock in the midst of battle. While shooting our film in Saipan, I learned that Marvin, a US Marine, had been awarded a Purple Heart for being severely wounded in the assault on Mount Tapochau on Saipan in June 1944. There is something about this island.
While researching for the film Parabeton, I had run across the book The Roman Pantheon: the Triumph of Concrete by the American civil engineer David Moore. In it, he describes the recipe for Roman cement and the construction art of the Roman construction legionnaires. Moore’s website has two other topics: the prostate cancer of war veterans and The Battle of Saipan, in which Moore took part as a ‘Seabee’ in June 1944 – as one of the pioneers of the US Navy Construction Battalions that built the airfields on Saipan.
On 20 July 2009, William Styron’s autobiographical story Rat Beach appeared in The New Yorker. I read it because Styron had saved my life in 1990 with his elucidations on the ‘Black Dog’ – a term Churchill found for his depressions – in his book Darkness Visible. Reading Rat Beach was staggering und crucial for my decision of 23 October. In Spring 1945, as a 20-year-old officer, Styron had to train his unit to land on Japan’s home islands. His text describes his mortal fear in the face of a fanatic, desperate enemy who would stop at nothing. He describes the roar of the motors of the B-29s taking off day after day from Tinian, the neighbouring island to the south, to bombard Japanese cities. Among them were the two B-29 Superfortresses, the Enola Gay and the Bockscar, with the atomic bombs Little Boy and Fat Man on board; dropping them saved not only his life.
On my return flight from Saipan to Tokyo, I glimpsed a rainbow over the volcano, active again since 2003, on the neighbouring island to the north, Anatahan. I decided to shoot the film Anatahan II as a sequel to The Airstrip. The only architectures on it are huts, caves and those of the plants. Unless the people who occasionally visit the island, uninhabited since 1990, count as buildings.

Heinz Emigholz

Photography and Beyond – State in 2013

After the premiere of The Holy Bunch at the Forum of the Berlinale on 17 February 1991, I was in a precarious situation. Along with a few intelligent commentators, the film’s comfortable robustness and cool narrative elegance had driven Germany’s film-journalisting widow chasers up the wall. The Sputnik film distribution company did its best for the film, but in the end I, the film’s sole producer, was more bankrupt than ever before. Munich’s film-funding oligarchs, who dominated the scene at that time, stopped cold the successor project initiated by Manfred Salzgeber, a film version of Hans Henny Jahnn’s novel Fluß ohne Ufer, for which Klaus Behnken, Ueli Etter and I had worked up a production-ready script. After ‘discovering’ me in 1991 at the Cannes Film Festival (in turn after I had ‘discovered’ his wife, the wonderful Dana Vavrova, for one of the roles in Fluß ohne Ufer), Joseph Vilsmaier cast me in a few lucrative supporting roles, rescuing me from financial ruin. My alienation from film in general, however, was never greater than at that time, and I swore to myself I would quit – or start over from the beginning.

My new beginning came in 1993 with the project Photography and beyond, which Wilfried Reichart, a producer at WDR TV-station and a fan of The Holy Bunch, let me make. Reinhard Wulf, also from WDR, and various film subsidies sustained this collaboration with Filmgalerie 451 and Amour Fou Vienna. But at the time I had no idea how long this project would keep me busy. Here is an excerpt from the project description of the time: ‘Photography and beyond is a film project about writing, drawing, sculpture and architecture. The film’s theme is the active work of design and projection – imaginings that have become real. A process of reversed seeing, so to speak, is analysed: seeing as expression, rather than impression. The eye as interface between brain and external world, the gaze as a composing force that turns the inside out and presents it in reality in a mirror image.’
Photography and beyond was initially supposed to be a film essay of about 100 minutes in which I wanted to explore the facts of a designed world and its appearance on cinematographically designed depiction surfaces. Architectures, sculptures, photographs, drawings, paintings, writings, cinematography, collages, prints and urban landscapes were on the list of motifs. The story would not be told by means of language or dialogue, but through the depicted things and situations themselves. Not exactly a project for the BBC or the History Channel and their soft-boiled kind of documenting; I began calling the resulting films ‘hard-core documentations’. Because it didn’t stop with a single film. After a footage-shooting phase that lasted years and then an editing block – and an interlude to establish an Institute for Time-Based Media at the University of the Arts in Berlin – finally in 2001, initially three short films were released under the overarching title Photography and beyond. Constant cell division on the list of motifs and the new collaboration with Artimage in Graz then led to many more short and long films. Now, twenty years after the beginning of this enterprise, ten long and seventy-four short films are on the project’s back catalogue list. These films are characterised and were made possible by rigorously eliminating any inflated production apparatus and concentrating all means on the desired and ultimately crucial visual and acoustic cinema experience. A list of the films with accompanying descriptions and commentaries can be viewed at and I presented the further epistemological implications of the series in the footnotes to the text The End in Disko 22 at
Most of the films in the series so far have been concerned with architecture, giving the project a certain unintended imbalance. In point of fact, the architectonic studies and field researches are finished with the new films Two Museums and The Airstrip – apart from three long-term projects that will keep me busy for some years more. At first, catalogues of the works of my favourite Classical Modernist construction engineers and architects (Sullivan, Maillart, Loos, Schindler, Perret, Goff, Nervi) stood in the foreground of my interest; but triumphing in the end was the cinematographer’s interest in anonymous architectonic situations that can no longer be attributed to a known designer.
It would be the fulfilment of a utopia if I were given an annual budget with no earmarks; I would return the favour with at least two architecture films shot around the world: a comedy and a tragedy. I am sure that everything people can narrate can be found in architecture: their love for one another, their fears of one another, their desire for protection and outfitting, their embedding in the circle of nature. Not least, an uproarious comic aspect inherent in architecture is underestimated all over the world. Unfortunately this utopia cannot be fulfilled, because the advance financing of films feels committed to the word and not the image.

Heinz Emigholz

read more... hide...

Press Coverage

"The Airstrip" is Emigholz's latest investigation of modernity via architectural form - and the third chapter in his "Decampment of Modernism" series. The film presents a global panorama of structures including stadia, shopping centers, airports and prisons, through which to quietly mediate upon war, capitalism, ideology and national identity. With music from Kreidler. (Barbican London, 2014)

In his new film Heinz Emigholz traces links that reach from Modernism’s concrete cult to the ‘concrete culture of war’, as the film-maker says. The last outstanding image analyst of German Cinema was never more sparkling. (epd film, 2014)

Wakeling gives us some indication how to interpret his findings in an early reference to 'mosaic theory,' defined thusly: 'disparate items of information which individually have no utility to their possessor can take on added significance when combined with other items of information.' A more compelling expression of this idea—likewise concerned with the presence of the past within the present—can be found in The Airstrip—Decampment of Modernism, Part III by Heinz Emigholz, who has been making films since the early 1970s. (In the company of the artists presenting new work here, this makes him downright venerable—Abrantes was born in 1984, and Wakeling is only a few years older.) Beginning with sculptor Reinhold Begas’s 1901 Prometheus, read as an allegory for the self-image of Germany under Wilhelm II, then shuttling to Rome’s Pantheon, Emigholz traces the interleaving histories of modernist architecture and twentieth-century political catastrophe, photographing buildings by Viktor Sulčič, Eladio Dieste, and Luis Barragán, while pursuing a wending route from Normandy to South America to Saipan, where Fat Man and Little Boy were loaded for delivery to the Empire of Japan. All the while, Emigholz elaborates and frustrates the elusive connection between what one US veteran, quoted in on-screen text, describes as “that indescribable cleanliness which one feels with bombs away” and a new cleanliness of design. (Artforum, 2014)

'Saipan, Tinian landmarks star in German film out in spring' A German filmmaker travelled to the Northern Marianas last year to shoot scenes for a movie that is scheduled for release this spring. Heinz Emigholz, who founded the production company Pym Films in 1978, was on Saipan and Tinian from April 5 to 12, 2012, with colleague and fellow artist Ueli Etter to work on the film The Airstrip-Decampment of Modernism. The two-hour film is the last installment of a series of films about modern architecture that have been shown worldwide in cinemas, film festivals and were especially acclaimed in the United States, said Emigholz. “It will contain several scenes with concrete ruins of Japanese military buildings on Saipan, and “Northfield” on Tinian with its concrete loading pits for the atomic bombs Little Boy and Fat Man,” he told Saipan Tribune, adding that the principal photography for the movie was done all over the world in 62 days. Emigholz, 64, said that his reasons to come to Saipan were manifold. He has studied and written about the Pacific War for decades, and loved the film Anatahan by Josef von Sternberg since childhood. Rat Beach, a story about 1945 Saipan written by William Styron, also piqued the interest of the professor for Experimental film at Berlin University of the Arts. What finally convinced him, however, was the book The Roman Pantheon: The Triumph of Concrete by the late American war veteran David Moore and published by the University of Guam, which he came across when he did a film about the historical and one of the best-preserved structures. “He was a civil engineer and his book is the best about the Pantheon I ever read,” Emigholz told Saipan Tribune, saying that Moore's book also led to his discovery of Moore's website, “I definitely will come back to Saipan and stay some time to work on a book.” When Emigholz returned to Germany following his brief stay in the Northern Marianas, members of the German group Kreidler approached him and asked him to do a video for a track in their new album Den released last Oct. 5. Founded in 1994, Kreidler combines electronic and analog instruments and is categorized by critics, depending on the publication, as electronic music, pop, avant-garde, post rock, ambient, neoclassical, krautrock or electronica. “I listened to their material, liked it and decided to do clips for all seven tracks,” said Emigholz, adding that he used materials shot in the CNMI for the videos of two tracks. He used the shot during the ride to the loading pits on Tinian for the video for Rote Wüste (Red Desert), which was released a month before Kreidler's album came out “and became very popular.” Meanwhile, Emigholz used shots of La Fiesta, the site of the Japanese Banzai attack on July 5, 1945, for the video of Sun. The Rote Wüste video, which has 5,804 views as of press time, can be seen at while the Sun video, which has 2,128 views, can be accessed at (Saipan Tribune, 9.1.2013, Clarissa V. David)

Awards and Festivals

Navigation überspringen

 
The Airstrip – Aufbruch der Moderne, Teil III

THE AIRSTRIP – AUFBRUCH DER MODERNE, TEIL III Heinz Emigholz, D 2013, 108 min

Photographie und jenseits – Teil 21 / Aufbruch der Moderne – Teil III. Nach PARABETON und PERRET IN FRANKREICH UND ALGERIEN der dritte Teil der Reihe.


Special Screening in Berlin:
THE AIRSTRIP + Filmgespräch mit HEINZ EMIGHOLZ am Sonntag den 19.10.2014 um 17:00 Uhr im Kino ARSENAL, Potsdamer Straße 2, 10785 Berlin.
(Letzte Vorführung im Kino Arsenal am Sonntag den 26.10.2014 um 17:00 Uhr.)


Kinostart: ab 2. Oktober in folgenden Kinos:
Berlin: Kino Arsenal
Karlsruhe: Die Kurbel
Köln: Filmhauskino
Leipzig: Schaubühne Lindenfels
München: Werkstattkino

ab November in folgenden Kinos:
Mannheim: Cinema Quadrat
ab Dezember in folgenden Kinos:

Hamburg: Metropolis Kino
ab Januar in folgenden Kinos:
Heidelberg: Karlstorkino
ab Februar in folgenden Kinos:
Liechtenstein: Filmklub im Takino
ab März in folgenden Kinos:
Bamberg: Lichtspielkino

Festival Screenings

Über den Film
Man stelle sich einen Luftraum vor, in dem eine Bombe abgeworfen wurde, die noch nicht ihren Explosionsort erreicht hat. Sie fliegt auf ihn zu und ist nicht mehr zu stoppen. Die Zeit zwischen dem Abwurf und der Explosion der Bombe ist weder Zukunft – denn die unweigerliche Zerstörung hat ja noch nicht stattgefunden – noch ist sie Vergangenheit, da diese unweigerlich im Begriff ist, zerstört zu werden. Die Flugzeit der Bombe beschreibt so das absolute Nichts, die Stunde Null, bestehend aus all den Möglichkeiten, die es im nächsten Moment nicht mehr gibt. Eine Geschichte also, die aufhören wird, bevor sie angefangen hat, und die hier aus Trotz erzählt wird: Eine Architekturreise von Berlin über Arromanches, Rom, Wroclaw, Görlitz, Paris, Bologna, Madrid, Buenos Aires, Atlantida, Montevideo, Mexico City, Brasilia, Tokyo, Saipan, Tinian, Tokyo, San Francisco, Dallas, Binz und Mexico City nach Berlin – ins Bodenlose.

Bauwerke und Skulpturen
Die Dreharbeiten zum Film THE AIRSTRIP fanden von März 2011 bis Juni 2012 in Deutschland, Italien, Frankreich, Spanien, Argentinien, Uruguay, Mexico, Brasilien, den USA, auf den Nördlichen Marianen und in Japan statt. Der Film zeigt folgende Bauwerke und Skulpturen:

Der gefesselte Prometheus
(1899) von Reinhold Begas in Berlin, Deutschland
Mulberry Harbour (1944) von Winston S. Churchill, Arromanches, Frankreich
Pantheon (2. Jahrhundert n. Ch.) in Rom, Italien
Hala Ludowa (1913) von Max Berg in Wrocław, Polen
Kaufhaus (1913) von Carl Schmanns in Görlitz, Deutschland
Einkaufscenter La Vache Noir (2000er) in Arceuil, Frankreich
Monument Gustave Eiffel (1928) von Auguste Perret in Paris, Frankreich
Markthalle (1953) von Renato Bernadi in Bologna, Italien
Flughafen Madrid
Einkaufscenter Mercado de Abasto
(1934) von Viktor Sulčič in Buenos Aires, Argentinien
La Bombonera Stadion (1940) von Viktor Sulčič und José Luis Delpini in Buenos Aires, Argentinien
Drei Mausoleen (1930er, 40er Jahre) von Viktor Sulčič auf dem Recoletta Friedhof in Buenos Aires, Argentinien
Parochial Kirche (1960) von Eladio Dieste in Atlántida, Uruguay
Lagerhaus (1979) von Eladio Dieste in Montevideo, Uruguay
Flughafen Montevideo
Las Arboledas
(1958-63) von Luis Barragán in Mexico City, Mexico
Doppelhaus (1937) von Luis Barragán in Mexico City, Mexico
Türme am Queretaro Highway (1958) von Luis Barragán und Mathias Goeritz in Mexico City, Mexico
Das Ende einer Autobahn (2012) in Mexico City, Mexico
Flughafen Mexico City
Italienische Botschaft
(1959) von Pier Luigi and Antonio Nervi in Brasilia, Brasilien
Flughafen Brasilia
Flughafen Tokyo
Japanisches Gefängnis
(1930er) in Garapan auf Saipan, Nördliche Marianen
Einkaufscenter La Fiesta (1990er) auf Saipan, Nördliche Marianen
Monument an den Banzai Selbstmordklippen (1953) auf Saipan, Nördliche Marianen
Flughafen Saipan
Northfield Memorial
(1985) auf Tinian, Nördliche Marianen
Flughafen Tokyo
Saint Mary's Kathedrale
(1971) von Pier Luigi Nervi in San Francisco, Kalifornien
Flughafen Dallas
Bushaltestelle
(1967) von Ulrich Müther in Binz, Deutschland
Kathedrale
(1573-1813) in Mexico City, Mexico
Neptunbrunnen
(1891) von Reinhold Begas in Berlin, Deutschland

Trailer
Musikvideos SUN, ROTE WÜSTE und MOTH RACE von Heinz Emigholz für KREIDLER
Musikvideopremiere von MOTH RACE bei Spex.de
"MuVi-Preis für das beste deutsche Musikvideo" für MOTH RACE auf den Kurzfilmtagen in Oberhausen 2013

___________________________________________________________________________________

Frag' nicht nach Sonnenschein.
Spruch meines Vaters

Eine Reise nach Saipan

Ich kann den Zeitpunkt genau benennen. Es war am Nachmittag des 23. Oktober 2010, an dem ich mich nach all den Jahren entschloß, auf die Nördlichen Marianen zu fliegen, nach Saipan, um von dort nach Tinian überzusetzen. Wem nicht nur der Name Pearl Harbour etwas sagt, sondern auch bei der Nennung von Midway, Wake, Marcus, Marshall, Kwajalein,  Eniwetok, Gilbert, Truk, Iwo Jima, Attu, Kiska, Salomonen, Bougainville, Rabaul, Ulithi, Guadalcanal, Espiritu Santo, Guam, Palau, Mindanao, Luzon, Tarawa und Okinawa zusammenzuckt, wird diesen Entschluß verstehen. Ich gestehe, daß ich mein Leben der Existenz der ersten beiden Atombomben verdanke und – als Deutscher – einem japanischen Fanatismus, der zu ihrem Abwurf über Japan führte. Dort aber, wo alles kulminierte, im westlichen Pazifik, wollte ich jetzt sein. Ich kam mir vor wie eine Schildkröte, die Tausende von Meilen an ihren Geburtsort zurückschwimmt, um ihre Eier im Sand zu vergraben – an dem Strand, an dem die vielen Soldaten sterben mußten, denen ich mein Leben und eine Kindheit im Schutz des Gleichgewichts des Schreckens verdankte.
     Das Leben, wenn es denn lange genug andauert, erzählt sich leichter als Rahmennovelle. Diese literarische Form ist für die Propagierung von Sinn erdacht worden, auch wenn er als Trost nur aus fernen Echos besteht. In den 50er Jahren waren die beiden Kinos unserer Kleinstadt, das Corso und das Odeon, voll mit amerikanischen B-Movies, die von der Schlacht im Pazifik erzählten. Abwechselnd mit Fuzzy-Filmen waren diese s/w-Filme dort fast jeden Sonntag zu sehen. Die erste Konfrontation mit Anatahan von Josef von Sternberg, meinem späteren Lieblingsfilm und Lieblingsregisseur, fiel auch in diese Zeit. Das erste Antlitz eines Schauspielers, das sich nachhaltig neben dem von Al St. John als „Fuzzy“ in mein Bewußtsein eingegraben hat, war das von Lee Marvin, der in vielen dieser Filme als ruhender Pol im Schlachtgeschehen auftrat. Bei unseren Dreharbeiten auf Saipan erfuhr ich, daß Marvin als US Marinesoldat bei der Erstürmung des Mount Tapochau auf Saipan im Juni 1944 schwer verwundet worden war und dafür mit dem Purple Heart ausgezeichnet worden ist. Diese Insel hatte es in sich.
     Bei den Recherchen zum Film Parabeton war ich auf das Buch The Roman Pantheon: the Triumph of Concrete des amerikanischen Bauingenieurs David Moore gestoßen. Er beschreibt darin die Zusammensetzung des römischen Zements und die Konstruktionskunst der römischen Baulegionäre. Die Website von David Moore beinhaltet noch zwei weitere Themen: Prostatakrebs von Kriegsveteranen und The Battle of Saipan, an der Moore als „Seabee“ im Juni 1944 teilgenommen hat – als einer der Pioniere des US Navy Construction Battalions, die die Flugfelder auf Saipan angelegt haben.
     Am 20. Juli 2009 erschien in The New Yorker die autobiografische Erzählung Rat Beach von William Styron. Ich las sie, weil Styron mir 1990 durch Ausführungen zum „Black Dog“ – ein Begriff den Churchill für seine Depressionen gefunden hatte – in seinem Buch Darkness Visible das Leben gerettet hatte. Die Lektüre von Rat Beach war umwerfend und ausschlaggebend für meine Entscheidung vom 23. Oktober. Styron mußte im Frühjahr 1945 als zwanzigjähriger Offizier auf Saipan die Landung seiner Einheit auf dem japanischen Festland trainieren und beschreibt in dem Text seine damalige Todesangst angesichts eines zu allem entschlossenen, fanatisch verzweifelten Feindes. Und er beschreibt die dröhnenden Motorengeräusche der von der südlichen Nachbarinsel Tinian startenden B-29s, die Tag für Tag japanische Städte bombardierten. Darunter waren auch die beiden B-29-Superfortresses Enola Gay und Bockscar mit den Atombomben Little Boy und Fat Man an Bord, deren Abwürfe nicht nur sein Leben retteten.
     Auf meinem Rückflug von Saipan nach Tokyo erblickte ich über dem seit 2003 wieder aktiven Vulkan der nördlichen Nachbarinsel Anatahan einen Regenbogen. Ich beschloß, dort in Fortsetzung von The Airstrip den Film Anatahan II zu drehen. Außer Hütten, Höhlen und denen der Pflanzen gibt es darauf keine Architekturen. Es sei denn, man sieht auch die Menschen, die die seit 1990 unbewohnte Insel gelegentlich besuchen, als Gebaute an.

Heinz Emigholz


Photographie und jenseits  –  Stand 2013

In der Zeit nach der Premiere von Der Zynische Körper auf dem Forum der Berlinale am 17. Februar 1991 befand ich mich in einer prekären Lage. Die kommodenhafte Robustheit und coole, erzählerische Eleganz des Films hatten, neben ein paar klugen Kommentatoren, die filmjournalistelnden Witwentröster der Bundesrepublik auf die Palme gebracht. Die Mitarbeiter des Sputnik-Filmverleihs waren bemüht, das Beste für den Film zu tun, aber am Ende war ich als alleiniger Produzent des Films so pleite wie nie zuvor. Das von Manfred Salzgeber initiierte Nachfolgeprojekt, die Verfilmung des Romans Fluß ohne Ufer von Hans Henny Jahnn, zu dem Klaus Behnken, Ueli Etter und ich ein produktionsreifes Drehbuch erarbeitet hatten, wurde von den damals die Szene beherrschenden Münchner Filmpfründe-Oligarchen kalt gestoppt. Zwar besetzte mich Joseph Vilsmaier, nachdem er mich 1991 auf den Filmfestspielen in Cannes „entdeckt“ hatte (nachdem ich wiederum seine Frau, die wunderbare Dana Vavrova, für eine der Rollen in Fluß ohne Ufer „entdeckt“ hatte), in ein paar lukrativen Nebenrollen und rettete mich so vor dem finanziellen Ruin. Meine Entfremdung von Film an sich aber war nie größer als zu jener Zeit, und ich schwor mir, damit aufzuhören – oder wieder ganz von vorn anzufangen.

Der Neuanfang kam dann 1993 mit dem Projekt Photographie und jenseits, das mich der WDR-Redakteur und Liebhaber von Der Zynische Körper, Wilfried Reichart, machen ließ. Reinhard Wulf vom gleichen Sender und diverse Filmförderungen haben diese Zusammenarbeit im Konzert mit Filmgalerie 451 und Amour Fou Vienna dann fortgesetzt. Aber ich hatte damals keine Ahnung, für welchen Zeitraum mich dieses Projekt beschäftigen würde. Hier ein Ausschnitt aus der damaligen Projektbeschreibung: „Photographie und jenseits ist ein Filmprojekt über Schrift, Zeichnung, Skulptur und Architektur. Thema des Films sind aktive Gestaltungs- und Projektionsleistungen – real gewordene Vorstellungen. Analysiert wird ein quasi umgedrehter Sehvorgang – Sehen als Ausdruck, nicht als Eindruck. Das Auge als Schnittstelle zwischen Gehirn und Außenwelt, der Blick eine komponierende Kraft, die ein Inneres nach Außen stülpt und in der Realität gespiegelt vorführt.“
     Photographie und jenseits sollte zu Anfang ein cirka hundertminütiger Essayfilm werden, in dem ich mich mit den Tatsachen einer gestalteten Welt und deren Erscheinen auf kinematographisch gestalteten Abbildungsflächen beschäftigen wollte. Architekturen, Skulpturen, Photographien, Zeichnungen, Gemälde, Schriften, Kinematographie, Collagen, Drucke und städtische Landschaften standen auf der Motivliste. Erzählt werden sollte nicht vermittels Sprache oder Dialoge, sondern durch die dargestellten Dinge und Situationen selbst. Nicht gerade ein Projekt für die BBC oder den History Channel und deren weichgekochte Art des Dokumentierens: Hardcore-Dokumentationen begann ich die entstehenden Filme zu nennen. Denn es blieb nicht bei einem Film. Nach einer jahrelangen Phase von Dreharbeiten plus anschließendem Schnittblock – und dem Zwischenspiel des Aufbaus eines Instituts für zeitbasierte Medien an der Universität der Künste in Berlin – kam es erst 2001 zur Veröffentlichung von zunächst drei kürzeren Filmen, die unter dem Obertitel Photographie und jenseits veröffentlicht wurden. Durch andauernde Zellteilungen auf der Motivliste und die neu hinzugekommene Zusammenarbeit mit Artimage in Graz folgten dann viele weitere kurze und lange Filme. Nach nunmehr zwanzig Jahren seit Beginn der Unternehmung stehen zehn lange und vierundsiebzig kurze Filme auf der Backkatalog-Liste des Projektes. Gekennzeichnet und ermöglicht wurden diese Filme durch eine konsequente Ausschaltung eines überdrehten Produktionsapparates und die Konzentration aller Mittel auf das angestrebte und letztlich ausschlaggebende visuelle und akustische Kinoerlebnis. Man kann die Liste der Filme mit den dazugehörigen Beschreibungen und Kommentaren auf <www.pym.de> und <www.filmgalerie451.de> einsehen. Die weitergehenden, erkenntnistheoretischen Implikationen der Serie habe ich den Fußnoten zum Text The End in Disko 22 <www.a42.org> dargelegt.
     Die meisten der bisherigen Filme der Serie befassen sich mit Architektur und verleihen dem Projekt dadurch ein gewisse, unbeabsichtigte Schlagseite. In der Tat sind die architektonischen Studien und Feldforschungen mit den jetzt vorgelegten Filmen Zwei Museen und The Airstrip abgeschlossen – abgesehen von drei Langzeitprojekten, die mich noch einige Jahre beschäftigen werden. Standen zuerst Werkkataloge der von mir bevorzugten Bauingenieure und Architekten der klassischen Moderne (Sullivan, Maillart, Loos, Schindler, Perret, Goff, Nervi) im Vordergrund meines Interesses, obsiegte zum Schluß das Interesse des Kinematographen an anonymen, architektonischen Situationen, die sich mit keinem Namen eines Gestalters mehr verbinden lassen.
     Die Erfüllung einer Utopie wäre es, wenn man mir einen jährlichen, unbetitelten Etat gäbe, und ich käme dafür mit mindestens zwei weltweit aufgenommenen Architekturfilmen zurück: einer Komödie und einer Tragödie. Ich bin mir sicher, daß alles, was Menschen überhaupt zu erzählen haben, in Architektur vorzufinden ist: ihre Liebe zueinander, ihre Angst voreinander, ihr Bedürfnis nach Schutz und Ausstattung, ihre Eingebundenheit in den Zirkel der Natur. Nicht zuletzt wird eine der Architektur innewohnende brüllende Komik weltweit unterschätzt. Leider wird sich diese Utopie nicht erfüllen lassen, weil sich die Vorfinanzierung von Filmen dem Wort verpflichtet fühlt und nicht dem Bild.

Heinz Emigholz

mehr... weniger...

Pressestimmen

In seinem neuen Film spürt Heinz Emigholz Verbindungslinien auf, die vom Betonkult der Moderne bis zur, so der Filmemacher, "Betonkultur des Krieges" reichen. Der letzte bedeutende Bilderanalytiker des deutschen Kinos war nie funkiger. (epd film, 10.2014, Andreas Busche)

"The Airstrip" wird zum globalen Road Movie, zum Reflexions- und Assoziationsteppich, der schwerelos wird und zum Flug anhebt. (Film Dienst 20/2014, Claus Löser)

Essayistischer Architektur- und Kunstfilm von Heinz Emigholz, in dem er rund um den Globus der klassichen Moderne in der Architektur nachspürt und mit pointierten Off-Kommentaren über die ökonomisch-materiellen und ideologischen Bedingungen der Bauwärke räsoniert - eine Art "Best of" von Emigholz' weitgespanntem Projekt "Photografie und jenseits". Sehenswert. (Film Dienst 20/2014, Bewertung der Filmkommission)

Einer der schönsten Dokumentarfilme dieser Filmfestspiele stammt aus einer Künstlerwerkstatt. Heinz Emigholz war bis vor kurzem noch Professor für Experimentelle Filmgestaltung an der Berliner Universität der Künste. In "The Airstrip - Aufbruch der Moderne, Teil III" erschloss er im "Forum"-Programm höchst bemerkenswerte Architekturen aus Deutschland, den USA und Japan, vor allem aber aus Lateinamerika: aufgenommen aus jeweils sorgfältig ausgesuchten Blickwinkeln. Ein Fest für die Sinne. (Kunstzeitung, Manfred Eichel)

Für "The Airstrip" ist Emigholz bis auf die Marianen gereist, jene Inselgruppe im Pazifik, die im Zweiten Weltkrieg von herausragender strategischer Bedeutung war. Er filmte dort die Betongruben, aus denen die beiden Atombomben für Hiroshima und Nagasaki in die Flugzeuge verladen wurden; in einer Entsprechung suchte er später auch den Strand von Aramanche in der Bretagne auf. Dort befinden sich am Strand zwei riesige Betonstrukturen, die von den Alliierten im Zweiten Weltkrieg als künstliche Häfen angelegt wurden und nun dem Spiel von Ebbe und Flut preisgegeben sind. Mit dieser "Betonkultur des Krieges", wie Emigholz es nennt, taucht eine explizierte historiographische Signatur in seinem Werk auf, die für die Zukunft noch einiges verspricht. (frieze d/e, 2014, Bert Rebhandl)

Der Filmemacher (Heinz Emigholz) und die Band (Kreidler) passen so gut zueinander, weil sie beide dasselbe Ziel verfolgen: den Raum ausloten in Momentaufnahmen, und dabei ohne Kompromisse die eigene Ästhetik verfolgen. (CULTurMAG, 2014, Tina Manske)

Angriffslustig, fast wütend klingt der sparsam und prägnant eingesetzte Kommentar in Heinz Emigholz’ jüngstem Dokumentar-Essay "The Airstrip", in dem er Bau- und Kunstwerke in einen Zusammenhang mit zeitgeschichtlichen Ereignissen des letzten Jahrhunderts setzt. Einerseits stellt Emigholz seinen Film dabei in den ästhetischen Kontext seiner Architekturfilme, andererseits werden aggressiv ungewohnte Wege beschritten: Überblendungen, Spezialeffekte und Musik von Kreidler. (Tip Berlin, 2014, Lars Penning)

Preise und Festivals