Navigation überspringen

 
Sullivan's Banks

SULLIVAN'S BANKS (Sullivans Banken) Heinz Emigholz, D 1993-2000, 38 min

Architecture as Autobiography - Louis H. Sullivan (1856-1924)
Photography and beyond - Part 2

This film shows the last eight buildings Louis H.Sullivan ("form follows function") has designed and furnished at the end of his career. He consistently draped his buildings with facades that no longer had a load-bearing function as a form of free expression. From one building to the next, both inside and outside, he varied and perfected his modular ornamental design in brick, steel, plater, terracotta, glass, ceramics, mosaic, marble, light, relief, stencil designs, wood and metal.

Sullivan's writings and constructions set out central positions of modernism, including its ambiguity. His organic ornamentation, conceived and created in conjunction with modern methods of construction, was barely noticed in Germany. Although Sullivan's work was displayed at the centre of the "Exhibition of New American Architects" in Berlin's Academy of the Arts in 1926, Europeans did not consider Sullivan to be of interest as a Theoretician, even though he was Frank Lloyd Wright's teacher.

read more... hide...

Press Coverage

As the film examines these beautiful, discreetly ornate red-brick buildings, which stand out like jewels in their banal contemporary surroundings, you are induced to consider the powerful psychological effect of architecture. Elegant but never gaudy, theses structures in the American heartland have the reassurance grace and solidity of secular capitalist cathedrals. And the movie admires them with a correspondingly prayerful reverence. (THE NEW YORK TIMES)

Awards and Festivals

Navigation überspringen

 
Sullivans Banken

SULLIVANS BANKEN Heinz Emigholz, D 1993-2000, 38 min

Architektur als Autobiografie – Louis H. Sullivan (1856-1924)
Photographie und jenseits – Teil 2

Der Film zeigt die letzten acht Gebäude, die der berühmte amerikanische Architekt Louis H. Sullivan (“form follows function”) am Ende seiner Karriere gebaut und ausgestattet hat. Vorgehängte Fassaden, die keine tragende Funktion mehr hatten, wurden von ihm konsequent frei gestaltet. Von Bauwerk zu Bauwerk variierte er dabei ein modular ornamentals Design aus Backsteinen, Stahl, Gips, Terracotta, Glas, Keramik, Mosaiken, Marmor, Licht, Reliefs, Matritzenmustern, Holz und Metall.

Schriften und Bauten von Louis H. Sullivan zeichneten entscheidende Positionen der Moderne vor, auch ihre Janusköpfigkeit. Seine zur modernen Bauweise parallel gedachte und gestaltete, organische Ornamentierung wurde in Deutschland kaum wahrgenommen. Zwar wurde 1926 in der "Ausstellung neuerer amerikanischer Baukunst" in der Berliner Akademie der Künste die Arbeit Sullivans in einem zentralen Saal ausgestellt. Für theoriefähig hielt man den Lehrer Frank Lloyd Wrights in Europa allerdings nicht. Auch nicht Sullivans mittlerweile weltberühmtes Credo "Form follows function".

mehr... weniger...

Pressestimmen

Während der Film diese schönen, diskret verzierten Backsteingebäude untersucht, die aus ihrer banalen zeitgenössischen Umgebung herausstechen wie Juwelen, wird man dazu veranlasst, sich über die starke psychologische Wirkung von Architektur Gedanken zu machen. Elegant, jedoch nie pompös, haben diese Strukturen im Landesinneren von Amerika die beruhigende Anmut und Solidität von säkularen Kathedralen des Kapitalismus. Und der Film bewundert sie mit einer entsprechenden andächtigen Ehrfurcht. (THE NEW YORK TIMES)

Preise und Festivals