Navigation überspringen

 

SENSE OF ARCHITECTURE Heinz Emigholz, D/A 2005-2009, 168 min

Photography and beyond – Part 11

The film SENSE OF ARCHITECTURE shows 42 contemporary architectural projects of Austrian origins. Shooting took place between June 2005 and November 2006. As an independent work, the film emerged from the material for 57 short films that Heinz Emigholz produced for the travelling exhibition conceived in Graz, Sense of Architecture.

The Exhibition SENSE OF ARCHITECTURE was curated by Charlotte Pöchhacker and designed by Alexander Kada. Unlike the exhibition, which grouped the architecture thematically, the new film SENSE OF ARCHITECTURE assembles the project into a social reality in which modern buildings were constructed for all areas of life.

The film starts with a bell tower in the Seetaler Alps and a construction site and then leads through the various stages of a fictive life: from a kindergarden, a single-family home, a botanical garden, ein track house, a pharmacy, a housing development, a museum for children, an apartment house with a workshop, a dialect institute, an art house, an office building, a shool, a shoe shop, an apartment block, a town hall, a community center, a medical center, past a pedestrian bridge, in a room for studying, an airport tower, a church reconstruction, a community center, a reginal exhibition, a residential area, a city council, a renovated castle, a villa, a restaurant, a hall, a building extension, a justice center, a prison, a cloister, an art house, a hospital, a vacation house, a castle, a museum, a stone house, a nursing home, a crematorium, and to a columbarium.

The filmed projects are in the order of their appearance: "Glockenturm" (2000) in Oberweg by Markus Pernthaler, construction site "Villa Trojer" (2005) in Matrei by Gerhard Mitterberger, "Kindergarten Dornschneidergasse" (2001) in Graz by Architekten Wratschko, "Haus R" (2002) in Graz by Feyferlik/Fritzer, "Gewächshäuser Botanischer Garten Universität Graz" (1995) by Volker Giencke, "Das Haus mit der Elefantenhaut" (2005) in Zurndorf by PPAG architects, pharmacy "Zum Löwen von Aspern" (2003) in Wien by ARTEC Architekten, "Wohnbau Carl-Spitzweg-Gasse" (1993) in Graz by Volker Giencke, "Kindermuseum" (2003) in Graz by fasch&fuchs, "Haus Werkstatt" (1995) in Hart near Graz by Michael Haberz, "Dialektinstitut" (2004) in Oberschützen by Hans Gangoly, "Kunsthaus Weiz" (2005) by FEICHTINGER ARCHITECTS, "T-Center St. Marx" (2004) in Vienna by Architektur Consult, "Stift Seckau" (2000) by Volker Giencke, "Albrecht 7" (2005) in Graz by PURPUR.ARCHITEKTUR, "Schwarzer Laubfrosch" (2004) in Bad Waltersdorf by SPLITTERWERK, "Stadthalle Graz" (2002) by Klaus Kada, "Gemeindezentrum Trahütten" (2001) by Hans Gangoly, construction site "Arztzentrum" (2005) in Matrei by Gerhard Mitterberger, "Passerelle Simone de Beauvoir" (2006) in Paris by FEICHTINGER ARCHITECTS, "Raum Zita Kern" (1998) in Raasdorf by ARTEC Architekten, "Flughafen Tower Schwechat" (2005) in Wien by Zechner & Zechner, "Basilika Mariazell" (since 1992) by Feyferlik/Fritzer, "Gemeindezentrum St. Nikolai" (2004) by Gerhard Mitterberger, "Kärntner Landesausstellung" (1995) in Hüttenberg-Heft by Günther Domenig,"Casa Nostra" (1992) in Graz by Riegler Riewe, "Bezirkshauptmannschaft Murau" (2002) by Wolfgang Tschapeller and Friedrich W. Schöffauer, "Generalsanierung Museum Schloss Bruck" (2000) in Lienz by Gerhard Mitterberger, "Haus T" (2005) in Graz by Feyferlik/Fritzer, "Murinsel" (2003) in Graz by Vito Acconci, "Helmut-List-Halle" (2002) in Graz by Markus Pernthaler, "Wohnhaus B. Kada" (1997) in Leibniz by Klaus Kada, "Justizzentrum Loeben" (2004) by hohensinn architektur, "Geistliches Haus" (since 1992) in Mariazell by Feyferlik/Fritzer, "Kunsthaus Graz" (2003) by Spacelab Peter Cook & Colin Fournier, "Landeskrankenhaus Hartberg" (1999) by Klaus Kada, "Grüner Laubfrosch" (2004) in St. Josef by SPLITTERWERK, "Generalsanierung Schloss Trautenfels" (1992) by Manfred Wolff-Plottegg, "Lapidarium Eggenberg" (2004) in Graz by PURPUR.ARCHITEKTUR, "Steinhaus" (since 1983) in Steindorf at Ossiachersee by Günther Domenig, "Sozialzentrum Passail" (2002) by Gerhard Mitterberger and "Krematorium und Urnenhain" (2003) in Linz by Klaus Kada.

read more... hide...

Press Coverage

By shunning still photography and talking heads, Emigholz presents the spaces in a more ambiguous, less mediated fashion, allowing the viewer to construct a personal sense of the designer’s creative voice. (FILM JOURNEY, Los Angeles)

Awards and Festivals

Navigation überspringen

 
Sense of Architecture

SENSE OF ARCHITECTURE Heinz Emigholz, D/A 2005-2009, 168 min

Photographie und jenseits – Teil 11

Der Film SENSE OF ARCHITECTURE zeigt zweiundvierzig zeitgenössische architektonische Projekte österreichischen Ursprungs. Die Dreharbeiten fanden von Juni 2005 bis November 2006 statt. Der Film geht als eigenständige Arbeit aus dem Material für 57 Kurzfilme hervor, die Heinz Emigholz für die in Graz konzipierte internationale Wanderausstellung SENSE OF ARCHITECTURE realisiert hat. 

Die Ausstellung SENSE OF ARCHITECTURE wurde von Charlotte Pöchhacker kuratiert und Alexander Kada designt. Im Gegensatz zur Ausstellung, die die dort beteiligten Architekturen thematisch gruppiert, montiert der neue Film SENSE OF ARCHITECTURE die Projekte zu einer gesellschaftlichen Wirklichkeit, in der für alle Bereiche des Lebens moderne Bauten errichtet worden sind.

Der Film beginnt mit einem Glockenturm in den Seetaleralpen und einer Baustelle und führt dann von Station zu Station eines fiktiven Lebens: durch einen Kindergarten, ein Einfamilienhaus, einen botanischen Garten, ein Billighaus, eine Apotheke, eine Wohnsiedlung, ein Museum für Kinder, ein Wohnhaus mit Werkstatt, ein Dialektinstitut, ein Kunsthaus, ein Bürogebäude, eine Schule, einen Schuhladen, einen Wohnblock, eine Stadthalle, ein Gemeindezentrum, ein Arztzentrum, über eine Fußgängerbrücke, in einen Raum zum Studieren, einen Flughafenturm, einen Kirchenumbau, ein Gemeindezentrum, eine Landesausstellung, eine Siedlung, eine Bezirkshauptmannschaft, ein saniertes Schloss, eine Villa, ein Restaurant, eine Halle, einen Anbau, ein Justizzentrum, ein Gefängnis, ein Kloster, ein Kunsthaus, ein Krankenhaus, ein Ferienhaus, ein Schloß, ein Museum, ein Steinhaus, ein Altersheim, ein Krematorium und auf einen Urnenhain.

Die beteiligten Projekte sind in der Reihenfolge ihres Auftritts: der "Glockenturm" (2000) in Oberweg von Markus Pernthaler, die Baustelle "Villa Trojer" (2005) in Matrei von Gerhard Mitterberger, der "Kindergarten Dornschneidergasse" (2001) in Graz von Architekten Wratschko, das "Haus R" (2002) in Graz von Feyferlik/Fritzer, die "Gewächshäuser Botanischer Garten Universität Graz" (1995) von Volker Giencke, "Das Haus mit der Elefantenhaut" (2005) in Zurndorf von PPAG architects, die Apotheke "Zum Löwen von Aspern" (2003) in Wien von ARTEC Architekten, die Siedlung "Wohnbau Carl-Spitzweg-Gasse" (1993) in Graz von Volker Giencke, das "Kindermuseum" (2003) in Graz von fasch&fuchs, das "Haus Werkstatt" (1995) in Hart bei Graz von Michael Haberz, das "Dialektinstitut" (2004) in Oberschützen von Hans Gangoly, das "Kunsthaus Weiz" (2005) von FEICHTINGER ARCHITECTS, das "T-Center St. Marx" (2004) in Wien von Architektur Consult, der Umbau "Stift Seckau" (2000) von Volker Giencke, die Ladeneinrichtung "Albrecht 7" (2005) in Graz von PURPUR.ARCHITEKTUR, der Wohnblock "Schwarzer Laubfrosch" (2004) in Bad Waltersdorf von SPLITTERWERK, die "Stadthalle Graz" (2002) von Klaus Kada, das "Gemeindezentrum Trahütten" (2001) von Hans Gangoly, die Baustelle "Arztzentrum" (2005) in Matrei von Gerhard Mitterberger, die "Passerelle Simone de Beauvoir" (2006) in Paris von FEICHTINGER ARCHITECTS, der "Raum Zita Kern" (1998) in Raasdorf von ARTEC Architekten, der "Flughafen Tower Schwechat" (2005) in Wien von Zechner & Zechner, der Umbau "Basilika Mariazell" (seit 1992) von Feyferlik/Fritzer, das "Gemeindezentrum St. Nikolai" (2004) von Gerhard Mitterberger, die "Kärntner Landesausstellung" (1995) in Hüttenberg-Heft von Günther Domenig, die Siedlung "Casa Nostra" (1992) in Graz von Riegler Riewe, die "Bezirkshauptmannschaft Murau" (2002) von Wolfgang Tschapeller und Friedrich W. Schöffauer, die "Generalsanierung Museum Schloss Bruck" (2000) in Lienz von Gerhard Mitterberger, das "Haus T" (2005) in Graz von Feyferlik/Fritzer, die "Murinsel" (2003) in Graz von Vito Acconci, die "Helmut-List-Halle" (2002) in Graz von Markus Pernthaler, die Erweiterung "Wohnhaus B. Kada" (1997) in Leibniz von Klaus Kada, das "Justizzentrum Loeben" (2004) von hohensinn architektur, der Umbau "Geistliches Haus" (seit 1992) in Mariazell von Feyferlik/Fritzer, das "Kunsthaus Graz" (2003) von Spacelab Peter Cook & Colin Fournier, das "Landeskrankenhaus Hartberg" (1999) von Klaus Kada, das Landhaus "Grüner Laubfrosch" (2004) in St. Josef von SPLITTERWERK, die "Generalsanierung Schloss Trautenfels" (1992) von Manfred Wolff-Plottegg, das "Lapidarium Eggenberg" (2004) in Graz von PURPUR.ARCHITEKTUR, das "Steinhaus" (seit 1983) in Steindorf am Ossiachersee von Günther Domenig, das "Sozialzentrum Passail" (2002) von Gerhard Mitterberger und das Krematorium und der "Urnenhain" (2003) in Linz von Klaus Kada.

mehr... weniger...

Pressestimmen

Indem er das Abfilmen von Fotos und Talking Heads vermeidet, gewährt Emigholz einen mehrdeutigen und nicht ausinterpretierten Zugang zu den gefilmten Räumen. Dem Betrachter wird dadurch ein eigener Bezug zur speziellen Sprache und Kunst der Architekten ermöglicht. (FILM JOURNEY, Los Angeles)

Preise und Festivals