Navigation überspringen

 
The Long Summer Of Theory

THE LONG SUMMER OF THEORY (Der lange Sommer der Theorie) Irene von Alberti, D 2017, 81 min

Theatrical release: November 23, 2017

Cinames in Berlin: (* with English subtitles)

Special events in Berlin:

Cinemas in other cities:

Dresden: Kino im Dach - Q&A with Irene von Alberti 11/26 18h
Leipzig:
 Schaubühne Lindenfels - Q&A with Irene von Alberti 12/1 20h
Nürnberg: Filmhauskino
München: Werkstattkino
Münster: Cinema - Q&A with Irene von Alberti 12/6 19h
Gauting:
Breitwand - from 12/7
Hamburg: Abaton - Q&A with Irene von Alberti 12/19 20h
Stuttgart: Atelier am Bollwerk - Q&A with Irene von Alberti 1/24
Tübingen: Arsenal - Q&A with Irene von Alberti 28/1

More cinemas and dates soon

Festival screening dates:
FILMZ - Festival des deutschen Kinos
: 12/2, 14:30h, Capitol

Official Trailer
    

“What is to be done?“ three women with artistic and creative professions in temporary living conditions are wondering. They are sharing a flat in an old building close to Berlin Central Station. The area is one of the city‘s last remaining gaps between buil­dings. They decide to end their flat share as soon as the first trenches will be dug.

With mixed feelings they are heading towards the time when their spontaneous life comes to an end, which means they have to make one or more (life) decisions eventually. The current flat is a symbol for their own life scripts so far: unformed and all bets are off but it already starts to be uncomfortable. They spend the remaining days in their flat with friends, celebrations, discussions and the strong feeling for the dawning of a new era.

“Der lange Sommer der Theorie“ (The long summer of theory) is a collection of staged episodes for a movie the three women are shooting. In a discursive and entertainig way the demand for political action is framed and put into practice. Real authors appear in the movie and reflect the life of the three women on the basis of theoretical, sociological and philosophical texts. That way they review the suitability for daily use of words. At the end of the film the move-out and the  departure into political awareness is due “What is to be done?“ becomes “Let‘s do it!“

With Julia Zange, Katja Weilandt and Martina Schöne-Radunski!

read more... hide...

Awards and Festivals

Navigation überspringen

 
Der lange Sommer der Theorie

DER LANGE SOMMER DER THEORIE Irene von Alberti, D 2016/2017

In Postproduktion

„Was tun?“ fragen sich drei Frauen mit künstlerisch-kreativen Berufen in provisorischen Lebensverhältnissen. Nola, Katja und Martina leben in einer Wohngemeinschft in einem Altbau hinter dem Berliner Hauptbahnhof, in einer der wenigen verbliebenen Baulücken der Stadt. Sie beschließen, die provisorische WG aufzulösen sobald die ersten Baugruben ausgehoben werden.

Mit gemischten Gefühlen gehen sie der Zeit entgegegen, in der ihr bisheriges Leben aus Koffern ein Ende hat und vielleicht auch die eine oder andere (Lebens-) Entscheidung gefällt werden muss. Die bisherige Wohnung symbolisiert den eigenen Lebensentwurf: unfertig, alles ist noch möglich, aber es beginnt schon ein wenig ungemütlich zu werden. Die letzten Tage in der Wohnung verbringen sie mit Freunden, Feiern, Diskutieren und dem deutlichen Gefühl, dass ein Aufbruch in eine ganz andere Zeit bevorsteht.

„Der lange Sommer der Theorie“ ist eine Sammlung aus inszenierten Episoden für einen Film, den die drei Frauen drehen. Diskursiv und unterhaltend wird die Forderung nach politischem Handeln formuliert und in die Tat umgesetzt. Im Film tauchen auch reale Autoren auf, die mit ihren theoretischen, soziologischen und philosophischen Texten das Leben der drei Frauen widerspiegeln und damit auch die Alltagstauglichkeit von Worten überprüfen. Am Ende des Films steht der Auszug und ein Aufbruch in ein politisches Bewusstsein, und aus „Was tun?“ wird „Was tun!“.

Mit Julia Zange, Katja Weilandt und Martina Schöne-Radunski!

mehr... weniger...