Navigation überspringen

 
Liberté

LIBERTÉ (Liberté ) Albert Serra, D/F/P/E 2019, 132 min

Trailer >

On 12th September, 2019, Albert Serra's feature film LIBERTÉ will have its theatrical release during Berlin Art Week (distributed by Filmgalerie 451). At the same time the eponymous video installation will have its German premiere, which can be seen from 11th September to 15th September in Villa Schöningen.
"Liberté", starring Helmut Berger, Marc Susini, Baptiste Pinteaux, is the cinematic recreation of his controversial 2018 Berlin Volksbühne play of the same name and had its world premiere in this year’s 2019 Un Certain Regard - Official Selection of the Cannes Film Festival - Special Jury Prize.


Special guest: Albert Serra - during Art Week in Berlin

09/13 / 20:30 h: Film & Q&A at Hackesche Höfe Kino, Moderation: Nicolas Wackerbarth
09/14 / 19:00 h: Film & Q&A at Wolf Kino, Moderation: Kristofer Woods
09/15 / 11:00 h: Video installation & Artist Talk in the garden of Villa Schöningen in Potsdam, additional guest: Alexander García Düttmann, Moderation: Nicolas Wackerbarth. The video installation is to see from 09/11 to 09/15, daily from 12:00 to 18:00 h.
*Hackesche Höfe Kino: English subtitles / Wolf Kino: English or German subtitles - please check the program

Cinemas
Berlin: Hackesche Höfe Kino - from 09/13-09/18
Berlin: Wolf Kino - from 09/13-09/25
Nürnberg: Filmhaus - from 10/10 to 10/16

Synopsis
1774, shortly before the French Revolution, somewhere between Potsdam and Berlin. Madame de Dumeval, the Duc de Tesis and the Duc de Wand, libertines expelled from the puritanical court of Louis XVI, seek the support of the legendary Duc de Walchen, German seducer and freethinker, lonely in a country where hypocrisy and false virtue reign. Their mission is to export libertinage, a philosophy of enlightenment founded on the rejection of moral boundaries and authorities, but moreover to find a safe place to pursue their errant games, where the quest for pleasure no longer obeys laws other than those dictated by unfulfilled desires.

Albert Serra
Born in Banyoles in 1975, Albert Serra is a Catalan artist and director. Having studied philosophy and literature, he wrote plays and produced different video works. He gained an international recognition with his first long feature, "Honor of the Knights", a free adaptation of Don Quijote played by non- professional actors from his village. The film was presented at Cannes’ Directors’ Fortnight in 2006. For his second film, "Birdsong", Serra took inspiration in a traditional Catalan Christmas song, El cant dels ocells, and worked with the same group of people to tell the story of the Three Wise Men following their guiding star to find Jesus. In 2013, the Centre Pompidou in Paris gave him a carte blanche for a correspondence with the Argentinian director Lisandro Alonso. The same year he received the Golden Leopard in Locarno for his new film "Story of my Death", inspired by Casanova’s memoirs. "The Death of Louis XIV" starring Jean-Pierre Léaud as the Sun King, was presented in the Official Selection of Cannes Film Festival 2016.

Filmography
- Liberté (2019) Cannes Film Festival, Official Selection - Un Certain Regard
- La Mort de Louis XIV / The Death of Louis XIV (2016) Cannes Film Festival, Official Selection
- Histoire de ma Mort / Story of my Death (2013) Locarno Film Festival, Golden Leopard
- Le Chant des Oiseaux / Birdsong (2008) Directors’ Fortnight
- Honor de Cavalleria / Honor of the Knights (2006) Directors’ Fortnight

read more... hide...

Awards and Festivals

Navigation überspringen

 
Liberté

LIBERTÉ Albert Serra, D/F/P/E 2019, 132 min

Trailer >

Am 12. September 2019 startet Albert Serras Spielfilm LIBERTÉ im Verleih von Filmgalerie 451 zur Berlin Art Week im Kino. Parallel zum Kinostart feiert die gleichnamige Video-Installation ihre Deutschlandpremiere, welche vom 11. September bis zum 15. September in der Villa Schöningen zu sehen ist.
Der Film wurde bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Cannes uraufgeführt und mit dem Special Jury Prize "Un Certain Regard" ausgezeichnet. Film und Video-Installation entstanden aus der umstrittenen Inszenierung an der Volksbühne Berlin unter Chris Dercon (2018). 

Special guest: Albert Serra - zur Art Week in Berlin
13.09. / 20:30 Uhr: Film & Gespräch im Hackesche Höfe Kino, Moderation: Nicolas Wackerbarth
14.09. / 19:00 Uhr: Film & Gespräch im Wolf Kino, Moderation: Kristofer Woods
15.09. / 11:00 Uhr: Video-Installation & Artist Talk im Garten der Villa Schöningen in Potsdam, zusätzlicher Gast: Alexander García Düttmann, Moderation: Nicolas Wackerbarth. Die Video-Installation ist vom 11.09. bis zum 15.09.2019, täglich von 12 bis 18 Uhr zu sehen.
*Hackesche Höfe Kino: en UT / Wolf Kino: en oder de UT - siehe Programm

Im Kino
Berlin: Hackesche Höfe Kino - ab 13.09.-18.9.
Berlin: Wolf Kino - ab 13.09.-25.09.
Nürnberg: Filmhaus - 10.10. bis 16.10.

Zum Film
1774, kurz vor der Französischen Revolution, werden die Libertins Madame de Dumeval, Herzog de Tesis und Herzog de Wand vom sittenstrengen Hof von Ludwig XVI. verbannt. Sie suchen Zuflucht beim preußischen Debauchee Graf von Walchen. Ein Wald, irgendwo zwischen Potsdam und Berlin, wird zu einem Ort des lustvollen Experimentierens und schmerzvollen Aufbegehrens.

Albert Serra
Der katalanische Videokünstler, Film- und Theaterregisseur Albert Serra wurde 1975 in der Stadt Banyoles geboren. Nach dem Studium der Philosophie und Literatur an der Universität von Barcelona schrieb er Theaterstücke und produzierte verschiedene Video-Arbeiten. Internationale Anerkennung erhielt Serra mit seinem ersten Spielfim "Honor de Cavalleria" (Honor of the Knights), eine freie Adaption des Romans "Don Quijote", den er mit nicht-professionellen Schauspielern aus seinem Heimatort inszenierte. Der Film wurde in Cannes bei der "Directors’ Fortnight" 2006 gezeigt. Für seinen zweiten Spielfilm "Le Chant des Oiseaux" (Birdsong) ließ sich Serra von einem traditionellen, katalanischen Weihnachtslied inspirieren, "El Cant dels ocells". Mit der gleichen Gruppe nicht-professioneller Schauspieler erzählt er die Geschichte von den Heiligen Drei Königen, welche dem "Sterndeuter" folgen, um Jesus zu finden. 2013 gab das Pariser Centre Pompidou Serra eine Carte blanche, welche ihm eine Korrespondenz mit dem argentinischen Regisseur Lisandro Alonso ermöglichte. Im gleichen Jahr wurde Serra mit dem Goldenen Leoparden beim Locarno Film Festival für seinen neuen Film "Histoire de ma Mort" (Story of my Death) ausgezeichnet, der von den Memoiren Casanovas inspiriert ist. Serras Film "La Mort de Louis XIV" (The Death of Louis XIV), mit Jean-Pierre Léaud in der Rolle des Sonnenkönigs, wurde 2016 im Programm der Offiziellen Auswahl der Internationalen Filmfestspiele von Cannes uraufgeführt.

Filmografie
- Liberté (2019) Cannes Film Festival, Official Selection - Un Certain Regard
- La Mort de Louis XIV / The Death of Louis XIV (2016) Cannes Film Festival, Official Selection
- Histoire de ma Mort / Story of my Death (2013) Locarno Film Festival, Golden Leopard
- Le Chant des Oiseaux / Birdsong (2008) Directors’ Fortnight
- Honor de Cavalleria / Honor of the Knights (2006) Directors’ Fortnight

mehr... weniger...

Preise und Festivals