Back to top

Frieder Schlaich

“David Lynch has said that he no longer makes movies because the market is dead. That’s true. Nevertheless we fight for every film (...). We often make small, radical films where we are used to fighting our way uphill all the time. One can only hope again and again that the films will retain a value, that the films will remain.”

About the director

Frieder Schlaich is a German producer, author and director. Together with Irene von Alberti, he has been running the Filmgalerie 451 since 1992, a DVD label, a film distribution and a film production company, which offers a platform to films and directors who dare to take a chance on content and form.

Biography

After studying visual communication at the Academy of Fine Arts in Hamburg, Frieder Schlaich opened the video library Filmgalerie 451 in Stuttgart together with Irene von Alberti in 1987. In 1992 it became a film distribution and video label (today: DVD), under which Irene von Alberti and Frieder Schlaich also produce their own films. In 1995 Frieder Schlaich celebrated his first success as a director with PAUL BOWLES – HALFMOON, an episodic film based on three short stories by the American cult author Paul Bowles, which he realised together with Irene von Alberti. His first feature film OTOMO, starring Isaach de Bankolé and Eva Mattes, is based on the true story of an African asylum seeker and won the “Diversity in Spirit Award” in Vancouver and the “Golden Rosa Camuna” in Bergamo in 2000. Other films he realised as a director are: CAUSE I HAVE THE LOOKS and NAOMI’S JOURNEY, which together with OTOMO form a trilogy about migration and racism in Germany; and the documentary films THREE STONES FOR JEAN GENET with Patti Smith and CHANCE 2000, which documents Christoph Schlingensief’s legendary political and theatrical project from 1998. As a producer he has realised films by Christoph Schlingensief, Werner Schroeter, Heinz Emigholz, Cynthia Beatt, Elfi Mikesch and Omer Fast.

Filme im Programm der Filmgalerie 451

GER 2017, 125 min

For the 1998 general election Schlingensief organized an “election campaign circus” in Berlin and founded the party CHANCE 2000. An...

GER/Peru 2017, 92 min

A justice thriller of a different kind.

GER 2012, 81 min

CAUSE I HAVE THE LOOKS intertwines a vibrant coming-of-age story about a 13-year-old girl from Columbia with the exceptional situation of...

GER 2002, 157 min

An Interviewfilm-portrait from the first untill the last film!

GER 2000, 82 min

A day in the life of a dead man.

GER 1997, 177 min

Interviewfilm with Roland Klick from 1997 about all his films.

GER 1995, 93 min

Three episodes based on three short stories and commented by famouse American writer Paul Bowles.

GER 2014, 7 min

In April of 2013, American singer Patti Smith travels to the grave of French writer Jean Genet in Larache, Morocco. She brings him three...

Filme im Programm der Filmgalerie 451

GER 2017, 125 min

For the 1998 general election Schlingensief organized an “election campaign circus” in Berlin and founded the party CHANCE 2000. An...

GER/Peru 2017, 92 min

A justice thriller of a different kind.

GER 2012, 81 min

CAUSE I HAVE THE LOOKS intertwines a vibrant coming-of-age story about a 13-year-old girl from Columbia with the exceptional situation of...

GER 2002, 157 min

An Interviewfilm-portrait from the first untill the last film!

GER 2000, 82 min

A day in the life of a dead man.

GER 1997, 177 min

Interviewfilm with Roland Klick from 1997 about all his films.

GER 1995, 93 min

Three episodes based on three short stories and commented by famouse American writer Paul Bowles.

GER 2014, 7 min

In April of 2013, American singer Patti Smith travels to the grave of French writer Jean Genet in Larache, Morocco. She brings him three...

Back to top

Frieder Schlaich

„David Lynch hat gesagt, dass er keine Kinofilme mehr macht, weil der Markt tot ist. Das ist so. Trotzdem kämpfen wir für jeden Film (...). Wir machen oft kleine, radikale Filme, bei denen wir gewöhnt sind, uns immer nur bergauf zu kämpfen. Man kann nur immer wieder hoffen, dass die Filme einen Wert behalten, dass die Filme bleiben.“

Über den Regisseur

Frieder Schlaich ist ein deutscher Produzent, Autor und Regisseur. Mit der Filmgalerie 451 betreibt er, zusammen mit Irene von Alberti, seit 1992 ein DVD-Label, einen Kinoverleih und eine Filmproduktion, die Filmen und Regisseur_innen eine Plattform bietet, die inhaltlich und formal etwas wagen.

Biografie

Nach dem Studium der Visuellen Kommunikation an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Hamburg, eröffnete Frieder Schlaich 1987 zusammen mit Irene von Alberti die Videothek Filmgalerie 451 in Stuttgart. 1992 entstand daraus ein Kinoverleih und Video-Label (heute: DVD), unter dem Irene von Alberti und Frieder Schlaich seit jeher auch eigene Filme produzieren. 1995 feierte Frieder Schlaich mit PAUL BOWLES – HALBMOND, ein Episodenfilm, der auf drei Kurzgeschichten des amerikanischen Kultautors Paul Bowles basiert und den er gemeinsam mit Irene von Alberti realisierte, seinen ersten Regieerfolg. Der Film erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und internationales Kritikerlob. Sein anschließender Film OTOMO, mit Isaach de Bankolé und Eva Mattes in den Hauptrollen besetzt, beruht auf der wahren Geschichte eines afrikanischen Asylbewerbers und gewinnt 2000 den „Diversity in Spirit Award“ in Vancouver sowie die „Golden Rosa Camuna“ in Bergamo. Zu seinen weiteren Regiearbeiten zählen unter anderem WEIL ICH SCHÖNER BIN und NAOMIS REISE, die neben OTOMO eine Trilogie über Migration und Rassismus in Deutschland bilden; sowie die Dokumentarfilme THREE STONES FOR JEAN GENET mit Patti Smith und CHANCE 2000, der das legendäre Polit- und Theaterprojekt von Christoph Schlingensief aus dem Jahr 1998 dokumentiert. Als Produzent realisierte er unter anderem Filme von Christoph Schlingensief, Werner Schroeter, Heinz Emigholz, Cynthia Beatt, Elfi Mikesch und Omer Fast.

Filme im Programm der Filmgalerie 451

D/Peru 2017, 92 min

Ein Justizthriller der anderen Art, der aus Verhören und Plädoyers ein ganzes Universum erschafft.

D 2014, 7 min

Im April 2013 besucht die amerikanische Rock-Sängerin Patti Smith das Grab von Jean Genet in Larache, Marokko. Sie bringt ihm drei Steine...

D 2012, 81 min

Die Geschichte einer 13-jährigen Schülerin in Berlin, der die Abschiebung nach Kolumbien droht.

D 1968-2004, 157 min

Ein Interviewfilm-Portrait vom ersten bis zum letzten Film!

D 2000, 82 min

Ein Tag aus dem Leben eines toten Mannes.

D 2017, 131 min

Deutschland, 1998. Anlässlich der Bundestagswahl veranstaltet Schlingensief in Berlin einen wortwörtlichen Wahlkampfzirkus, in dessen...

D 1997, 177 min

Ausführliches Interview mit einem Ausnahmeregisseur!

D 1995, 93 min

Drei Kurzgeschichten des berühmten amerikanischen Schriftstellers Paul Bowles in Episoden erzählt und von ihm persönlich kommentiert.

Filme im Programm der Filmgalerie 451

D/Peru 2017, 92 min

Ein Justizthriller der anderen Art, der aus Verhören und Plädoyers ein ganzes Universum erschafft.

D 2014, 7 min

Im April 2013 besucht die amerikanische Rock-Sängerin Patti Smith das Grab von Jean Genet in Larache, Marokko. Sie bringt ihm drei Steine, die sie seit mehr als 30 Jahren in einer... mehr

D 2012, 81 min

Die Geschichte einer 13-jährigen Schülerin in Berlin, der die Abschiebung nach Kolumbien droht.

D 1968-2004, 157 min

Ein Interviewfilm-Portrait vom ersten bis zum letzten Film!

D 2000, 82 min

Ein Tag aus dem Leben eines toten Mannes.

D 2017, 131 min

Deutschland, 1998. Anlässlich der Bundestagswahl veranstaltet Schlingensief in Berlin einen wortwörtlichen Wahlkampfzirkus, in dessen Rahmen die Partei CHANCE 2000 gegründet wird. Was bis zum... mehr

D 1997, 177 min

Ausführliches Interview mit einem Ausnahmeregisseur!

D 1995, 93 min

Drei Kurzgeschichten des berühmten amerikanischen Schriftstellers Paul Bowles in Episoden erzählt und von ihm persönlich kommentiert.