Navigation überspringen

 
Specters of Freedom - Cinema and Decolonization (Arsenal Edition - 2DVDs)

SPECTERS OF FREEDOM - CINEMA AND DECOLONIZATION (ARSENAL EDITION - 2DVDS) (Specters of Freedom - Cinema and Decolonization (Arsenal Edition - 2DVDs)) Ruy Guerra, Murilo Salles, Trinh T. Minh-ha, Assia Djebar, Joaquim Lopes Barbosa, Sarah Maldoror, AL/MOZ/USA 1969–1982, 311 min

The six films on this DVD edition are powerful examples of how cinema and filmmaking have engaged in the struggle against colonial oppression and in the momentous task of decolonizing a world marked by centuries of European hegemony over large parts of the Global South. If “Specters of Freedom” refers to the spectral and unruly nature of all films, particularly when they are taken out of an archive and brought back to life, the title also suggests that the colonial past keeps haunting our present. The political and poetic verve of these films – publicly released here for the first time on DVD – is anything but outdated.

DVD 1:
MUEDA, MEMÓRIA E MASSACRE (Mueda, Memory and Massacre), Ruy Guerra, Mozambique 1979–80, 75 min
ESTAS SÃO AS ARMAS (These Are the Weapons), Murilo Salles, Mozambique 1978, 59 min
REASSEMBLAGE, Trinh T. Minh-ha, USA 1982, 40 min

DVD 2:
LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L’OUBLI (The Zerda and the Songs of Forgetting), Assia Djebar, Algeria 1982, 59 min
DEIXEM-ME AO MENOS SUBIR ÀS PALMEIRAS (At Least Let Me Climb the Palm Trees), Joaquim Lopes Barbosa, Mozambique 1972, 71 min
MONANGAMBEEE, Sarah Maldoror, Algeria 1969, 15 min


MUEDA, MEMÓRIA E MASSACRE (Mueda, Memory and Massacre)
Ruy Guerra, Mozambique 1979–80, 75 min
One of the first filmmakers to be invited to shoot in Mozambique after independence was Ruy Guerra, who was born in the country but became well-known as one of the central figures of the Brazilian   Cinema Novo. Although his film MUEDA, MEMÓRIA E MASSACRE, which was shown at the Berlinale Forum in 1981, is the only Mozambican film in the Arsenal archive, it is a clear milestone. It shows a piece of anti-colonial reminiscence work, a public reenactment staged by non-professionals of the massacre of Mueda (1960) carried out by the Portuguese. The event was regarded as triggering armed resistance in Mozambique in subsequent historiography and was remembered at regular intervals even before independence by means of popular reenactments. Ruy Guerra shot MUEDA with a clear documentary interest in this theatrical form of commemorative practice. Its subsequent marketing as the "first Mozambican feature film" provided an initial taste of the interpretational conflict that was to follow, which resulted in a complicated history of censorship.

ESTAS SÃO AS ARMAS (These Are the Weapons)
Murilo Salles, Mozambique 1978, 59 min

The agitprop film ESTAS SÃO AS ARMAS by Murilo Salles was edited together from archival images and formed one of the first works to be produced by the newly founded film institute in Maputo.

LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L’OUBLI (The Zerda and the Songs of Forgetting)
Assia Djebar, Algeria 1982, 59 min
For LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L’OUBLI (1982), Assia Djebar and her co-author Malek Alloula spent half a year in the Pathé and Gaumont film archives watching footage shot by French documentary filmmakers between 1912 and 1942. Their montage sifts through these “images of a deadly gaze” for the reality they conspicuously elide, for the resistance that has retreated “behind the mask”. The soundtrack blends together poetry, recitations, and experimental music into a polyphonic swan song to colonial violence.

DEIXEM-ME AO MENOS SUBIR ÀS PALMEIRAS (At Least Let Me Climb the Palm Trees)
Joaquim Lopes Barbosa, Mozambique 1972, 71 min

One of the few anti-colonial films to be produced in Mozambique before independence is DEIXEM-ME AO MENOS SUBIR ÀS PALMEIRAS by Joaquim Lopes Barbosa. Shot in the style of a Russian avant-garde film, it tells the story of the suffering of and revolts carried out by a gang of rural workers. The film was banned by the Portuguese censors at the time and has only recently been given a new reception in Portugal.

MONANGAMBEEE
Sarah Maldoror, Algeria 1969, 15 min
“Monangambeee!” Passed from village to village, this cry struck terror in the hearts of even Angola’s bravest. Men, women and children took flight and sought protection in the bush. The cry translates as "white death", and signified certain deportation with no return. The cry once accompanied the arrival of Portuguese slave traders and in the 1960’s it was used as an identifying sign and signal to gather for the People’s Liberation Front. A woman visits her husband in prison. When departing, she promises him a “Complet”, but the guard betrays him by informing the prison director. Based on a misunderstanding over which language the woman speaks, and the meaning of the word, it comes to interrogation and torture.

Quelle: www.arsenal-berlin.de and www.berlinale.de

read more... hide...

Awards and Festivals

Navigation überspringen

 
Specters of Freedom - Cinema and Decolonization (Arsenal Edition - 2DVDs)

SPECTERS OF FREEDOM - CINEMA AND DECOLONIZATION (ARSENAL EDITION - 2DVDS) Ruy Guerra, Murilo Salles, Trinh T. Minh-ha, Assia Djebar, Joaquim Lopes Barbosa, Sarah Maldoror, AL/MOZ/USA 1969–1982, 311 min

Als vielschichtiger Beitrag zu einer Ästhetik des Widerstands gegen koloniale Gewalt ist die Edition auch von aktuellem Interesse.

Die sechs Filme auf dieser DVD-Ausgabe zeigen exemplarisch, wie die Entkolonialisierung einer Welt, die von jahrhundertelanger, europäischer Hegemonie über weite Teile des globalen Südens geprägt ist, auch zu einer Sache des Kinos wurde. Wenngleich sich der Titel „Specters of Freedom“ auf die gespenstische und unbändige Natur aller Filme beziehen lässt, besonders wenn sie aus einem Archiv genommen und zu neuem Leben erweckt werden, so verweist er hier auch darauf, dass die koloniale Vergangenheit unsere Gegenwart weiterhin heimsucht. Die politische und poetische Verve dieser Filme – hier erstmalig auf DVD veröffentlicht – ist alles andere als überholt.

DVD 1:
MUEDA, MEMÓRIA E MASSACRE
(Mueda, Memory and Massacre), Ruy Guerra, Mosambik 1979–80, 75 min
ESTAS SÃO AS ARMAS
(These Are the Weapons), Murilo Salles, Mosambik 1978, 59 min
REASSEMBLAGE
, Trinh T. Minh-ha, USA 1982, 40 min

DVD 2:
LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L’OUBLI (The Zerda and the Songs of Forgetting), Assia Djebar, Algerien 1982, 59 min
DEIXEM-ME AO MENOS SUBIR ÀS PALMEIRAS (At Least Let Me Climb the Palm Trees), Joaquim Lopes Barbosa, Mosambik 1972, 71 min
MONANGAMBEEE, Sarah Maldoror, Algerien 1969, 15 min

                                                  
MUEDA, MEMÓRIA E MASSACRE (Mueda, Memory and Massacre)
Ruy Guerra, Mosambik 1979–80, 75 min

Einer der ersten Filmemacher, die nach der Unabhängigkeit eingeladen wurden, in Mosambik zu drehen, war Ruy Guerra, gebürtig in Mosambik, bekannt geworden jedoch als eine zentrale Figur des brasilianischen Cinema Novo. Sein Film MUEDA, MEMÓRIA E MASSACRE lief 1981 im Berlinale Forum. Zu sehen ist ein Stück anti-kolonialer Erinnerungsarbeit, ein öffentliches, von Laien in Szene gesetztes Re-Enactment des von den Portugiesen verübten Massakers von Mueda (1960). Das Ereignis galt in der späteren Geschichtsschreibung als Auslöser des bewaffneten Widerstands in Mosambik und wurde schon während der Kolonialzeit in populären Re-Enactments regelmäßig erinnert. Ruy Guerra drehte MUEDA mit einem durchaus dokumentarischen Interesse für diese theatrale Erinnerungspraxis. In der späteren Vermarktung als "erster mosambikanischer Spielfilm" zeigte sich bereits ein Deutungskonflikt an, der auch bald zu einer komplizierten Zensurgeschichte des Films führte.
 
ESTAS SÃO AS ARMAS (These Are the Weapons)
Murilo Salles, Mosambik 1978, 59 min

Der von dem Brasilianer Murilo Salles aus Archivbildern montierte Agitationsfilm ESTAS SÃO AS ARMAS gehörte zu den ersten Produktionen des neu gegründeten Filminstituts in Maputo.

REASSEMBLAGE
Trinh T. Minh-ha, USA 1982, 40 min

Trinh T. Minh-has im Senegal gedrehter Erstling REASSEMBLAGE setzt Bild und Ton gegeneinander und dekonstruiert vor allem das stigmatisierende ethnologische Bildarchiv von Afrika, das wir alle im Kopf haben.   

LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L’OUBLI (The Zerda and the Songs of Forgetting)
Assia Djebar, Algerien 1982, 59 min

Für LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L'OUBLI wechselte die algerische Schriftstellerin Assia Djebar das Metier und rekapituliert anhand von französischen Wochenschauen die Kolonisierung des Maghreb. Mittels der Montage sucht der Film in diesen "Bildern eines tötenden Blicks" die Wahrheit, die sie gerade nicht zeigen, den "Widerstand hinter der Maske". Auf der Tonspur verbinden sich mehrstimmig vorgetragene Sprechgesänge und experimentelle Musik zu einem furiosen Abgesang auf die koloniale Gewalt.

DEIXEM-ME AO MENOS SUBIR ÀS PALMEIRAS (At Least Let Me Climb the Palm Trees)
Joaquim Lopes Barbosa, Mosambik 1972, 71 min

Einer der wenigen anti-kolonialen Filme, die schon vor der Unabhängigkeit in Mosambik entstanden sind, ist DEIXEM-ME AO MENOS SUBIR ÀS PALMEIRAS von Joaquím Lopes Barbosa. Im Stil eines russischen Avantgardefilms erzählt er von Leiden und Revolte einer Landarbeiterkolonne. Der Film wurde seinerzeit von der portugiesischen Zensur verboten und wird erst seit kurzem in Portugal neu rezipiert.

MONANGAMBEEE
Sarah Maldoror, Algerien 1969, 15 min

„Monangambeee!“ Von Dorf zu Dorf weitergegeben, ließ dieser Schrei in Angola selbst die Mutigsten erblassen. Männer, Frauen und Kinder ergriffen die Flucht und suchten Deckung im Busch. Der Schrei bedeutete soviel wie weißer Tod, zumindest aber Deportation ohne Rückkehr. Früher begleitete er die Ankunft der portugiesischen Sklavenhändler. In den 1960er-Jahren ertönte er als Erkennungszeichen und Signal zum Sammeln für die Volksbefreiungsfront. Eine Frau besucht ihren Mann im Gefängnis. Beim Weggehen verspricht sie ihm ein „Complet“, der Gefängniswärter verrät es dem Direktor. Beruhend auf einem Missverständnis darüber, in welcher Sprache sie spricht, und über die Bedeutung des Wortes, kommt es zu Verhör und Folter.

Quelle: www.arsenal-berlin.de und www.berlinale.de

mehr... weniger...

Preise und Festivals