Navigation überspringen

 

GHASHIRAM KOTWAL K. Hariharan, Mani Kaul, India 1977, 107 min

Schemes, assassinations and espionage in the old Indian empire on the eve of colonialization

Based on a famous play of the same name, GHASHIRAM KOTWAL combines the stylistics of theater with experimental cinema to portray the last years of the Maratha Empire before the British take over. It is an attempt to give an insight into the intrigue-ridden world of nobles and aristocrats ruling over a decaying empire while ruthlessly exploiting their working class and women. It is also a tribute to the dance drama tradition, which formed the basis of popular/counterculture in Western India.

GHASHIRAM KOTWAL is the first venture of YUKT, a film cooperative established by sixteen students from the Film & Television Institute of India in 1976.

GHASHIRAM KOTWAL is a stylized film version of a play chronicling the Peshwa regime in western India. The Peshwa Empire, based in Pune, was the only one of its extent in India under Brahmin rule. Placing an infant Madhav Rao on the throne as king, Nana Phadnavis takes charge as the Prime Minister. To enforce his powers, Nana appoints Ghashiram as a senior police official cum espionage agent. So it is in the heart of a feudal, decadent, yet romantic atmosphere that we witness intrigues, murders, and alliances while the British advance into Maratha territory. Through his espionage network, Nana discovers the subversive operations of the British; when Nana resists them he faces a total rout at Wadgaon (1779).

Ghashiram develops into a mirror image of Nana, and while Nana gets married for the sixth time to a child bride, Ghashiram unleashes a reign of terror against the intriguing Brahmins. One day a group of Brahmins from Andhra suffocate to death in a dungeon while confined under his orders. Unable to tolerate this tyranny, the Brahmins of Pune demand that Ghashiram be beheaded. Nana placates the imprisoned Ghashiram by offering him metaphysical solutions to life, but later sanctions his death sentence. The Peshwas hang on when all other Indian rulers have gone under. Finally they too are brought to heel and the British get complete control of India.

read more... hide...

Awards and Festivals

Navigation überspringen

 
GHASHIRAM KOTWAL

GHASHIRAM KOTWAL K. Hariharan, Mani Kaul, India 1977, 107 min

Intrigen, Mordanschläge und Spionage im alten Indien am Vorabend der Kolonialisierung

GHASHIRAM KOTWAL basiert auf dem gleichnamigen Drama. Der Film verbindet die Formensprache des Theaters mit experimentellem Kino, um die letzten Jahre des Marathenreichs vor der Machtübernahme der Briten zu schildern. Er gibt Einblick in eine von Intrigen geprägte Welt, in der die Adligen über ein bereits geschwächtes Reich herrschen und gleichzeitig die arbeitende Bevölkerung und die Frauen rücksichtslos ausbeuten. Der Film ist zugleich eine Hommage an die Tradition des Tanztheaters, das im westlichen Indien die Grundlage der volkstümlichen Kultur und der Gegenkultur bildete.

GHASHIRAM KOTWAL war das erste Projekt von YUKT, einer Filmkooperative, die 1976 von sechzehn Studenten des Film & Television Institute of India gegründet worden war.

GHASHIRAM KOTWAL ist die aufbereitete Filmfassung eines Schauspiels, das die Herrschaft der Peshwas im westlichen Indien nachzeichnet. Das Reich der Peshwas hatte seinen Mittelpunkt in Pune und war das einzige größere Hindureich im damaligen Indien. Nachdem er den unmündigen Madhav Rao als König eingesetzt hat, übernimmt Nana Phadnavis die Herrschaft als Premierminister. Um seine Macht abzusichern, ernennt er Ghashiram zum Polizei- und Spionagechef des Staates. So werden die Zuschauer direkt in das Zentrum einer feudalen und dekadenten, aber auch romantischen Welt versetzt, die von Intrigen, Mordanschlägen und Allianzen geprägt ist, während gleichzeitig die Briten in das Reich der Marathen vordringen. Mithilfe seines Spionagenetzes durchschaut Nana die subversiven Aktionen der Briten, leistet ihnen Widerstand und bringt ihnen bei Wadgaon eine vernichtende Niederlage bei (1779).

Währenddessen entwickelt sich Ghashiram zu einem Spiegelbild Nanas. Während dieser zum sechsten Mal heiratet – ein noch nicht erwachsenes Mädchen –, setzt Ghashiram eine Schreckensherrschaft gegen die intriganten Brahmanen in Gang. Doch eines Tages ersticken mehrere Brahmanen aus Andhra in einem Kerker, in den sie auf Befehl Ghashirams geworfen worden waren. Aufgebracht über seine Tyrannei fordern die Brahmanen von Pune, dass Ghashiram geköpft werden soll. Nana beruhigt den gefangen gesetzten Ghashiram und verspricht ihm metaphysische Belohnungen, stimmt aber später dem Todesurteil zu. Die Peshwas konnten sich noch halten, als die anderen indischen Herrscher bereits unterworfen waren. Schließlich müssen aber auch sie sich der Herrschaft der Briten beugen, die nun das gesamte Indien beherrschen.

mehr... weniger...

Preise und Festivals