Navigation überspringen

 
2+2=22 [The Alphabet]

2+2=22 [THE ALPHABET] (2+2=22 [The Alphabet]) Heinz Emigholz , D 2013-2017, 88 min

Streetscapes - Chapter I / Photography and beyond – Part 24

German theatrical release date: October 12th, 2017 - English or German with English subtitles

Film discussions with Heinz Emigholz & Arno Brandlhuber on October 15th (14:30)
and with Heinz Emigholz & guests on October 22nd (15:00) at fsk-Kino Berlin!

  • fsk-Kino Berlin: 10/14 (15:45) / 10/21 (13:00) / 10/29 (15:45)
  • Mal Sehn' Kino Frankfurt am Main: 10/15 / 10/22 / 10/26 - 11/1

Now on festivals:

World premiere: Monday,  Feb 11th, 2017: 16:30 h at Delphi
Second screening: Saturday, Feb 18th, 2017: 11:00 h at CineStar 8

Official Trailer


About the film

A documentary on the CD-production ABC by Kreidler (Thomas Klein, Alexander Paulick, Andreas Reihse, Detlef Weinrich).
Filmed at Kartuli Pilmis Studia Tbilisi and in the streets of Tbilisi, Georgia, in October 2013 / Notebooks No. 222 a–z by Heinz Emigholz from Juli 30th, 2012 until Dezember 23rd, 2013.

Recordings of Nino, Alphabet, Modul, Ceramic, Tornado and Mento by KREIDLER for their album ABC [Engineer: Gvaji, Choir: Nino Gulbatashvili, Salome Makaridze, Ucha Pataridze and Beka Sebiskveradze, Mixing: KREIDLER with Guy Sternberg at LowSwing Studios Berlin, Assistence: Florian von Keyserlingk, Mastering: Rashad Becker at Dubplates & Mastering, ABC released by Bureau-b as CD and LP, Funded by Michael Dimitrov, Stephan Wackwitz, Goethe Institut Tbilisi, Kulturamt Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf and Initiative Musik]


Statement on the production of the film by Pym Films 

The film documents the genesis of the recordings and production of some music pieces by the band Kreidler that were released on their album ABC in May 2014. Continuous, long, observing filmic shots were taken. The recordings were made from 8 to 12 October 2013 in the recording studio of the Georgian film production complex Kartuli Pilmi in Tbilisi, Georgia. A large, wood-panelled hall outfitted with moveable walls was used. The room was originally conceived as a recording studio for a film orchestra; the board of censors used it as an internal screening room.

About twenty sequences from the documentary footage of the creation of the music pieces were selected to form the backbone of the film. Interstitials are added before and between the musical sequences. These interstitials consist of two components: first, documentary footage of architectonic situations in Tbilisi that, in the course of the film, result in a portrait of the city; and second, notebooks leafed through by means of film-technical animation. The notebooks were written and illustrated by Heinz Emigholz in the course of one year.

The basic structure of the film is shots alternating between the musical recordings and the city and notebook insertions. The film is a reply to Godard’s One Plus One inasmuch as the main part of each film consists of the documentation of the work of a contemporary music group. The simplified, political-pop-ideological macramé of One Plus One makes way for an objectifying city portrait in 2+2=22 [The Alphabet]. In contrast to Godard’s construct, here ‘propaganda’ results not from acted sketches and sarcasms, but relatively reservedly from the declamation of municipal surfaces coupled with text-image collages.

The film is not an advertising film or a music clip for a pop band, but creates a new relationship between music and documentation. It contrasts the real work on pieces of music with the documentary footage of the site of the music’s creation, a former Soviet republic on the southern edge of the Caucasus, and with the poetic notes of a more Western-style commentary. The observation of a collective creative process and its pauses stands at the centre of the film. Rudiments of reality and its sound scenarios interrupt these studies, and poetic declamations form ideological opposite poles to it. That these can no longer operate as a politically generally understandable language is just one of the truths that have emerged since the release of One Plus One. That the work of the Rolling Stones shown in it has gained increasing dignity through its calm continuation, while, in contrast, Godard’

Navigation überspringen

 
2+2=22 [The Alphabet]

2+2=22 [THE ALPHABET] Heinz Emigholz , D 2013-2017, 88 min

Streetscapes - Kapitel I / Photographie und jenseits – Teil 24

Ab 12. Oktober in ausgewählten Kinos

Filmgespräche mit Heinz Emigholz & Arno Brandlhuber am 15. Oktober (14:30)
und mit Heinz Emigholz & Gästen 22. Oktober (15:00) im fsk-Kino Berlin!

  • fsk-Kino Berlin: 14.10. (15:45) / 21.10. (13:00) / 29.10. (15:45)
  • Mal Sehn' Kino Frankfurt am Main: 15.10. / 22.10. / 26.10.-1.11.

Aktuelle Festivaltermine:

Weltpremiere: Samstag, 11. Februar 2017: 16:30 h im Delphi
Wiederholung: Samstag, 18. Februar 2017: 11:00 h im CineStar 8

Official Trailer


Über den Film

Eine Dokumentation der CD-Produktion ABC von Kreidler (Thomas Klein, Alexander Paulick, Andreas Reihse, Detlef Weinrich).
Gefilmt im Kartuli Pilmis Studia Tbilisi und in den Straßen von Tiflis, Georgien, im Oktober 2013 / Notizhefte Nr. 222 a–z von Heinz Emigholz vom 30. Juli 2012 bis 23. Dezember 2013.

Aufnahmen der Stücke Nino, Alphabet, Modul, Ceramic, Tornado und Mento von KREIDLER für ihr Album ABC [Toningenieur: Gvaji, Chor: Nino Gulbatashvili, Salome Makaridze, Ucha Pataridze und Beka Sebiskveradze, Mischung: KREIDLER mit Guy Sternberg in den LowSwing Studios Berlin, Assistenz: Florian von Keyserlingk, Mastering: Rashad Becker bei Dubplates & Mastering, ABC veröffentlicht von Bureau-b als CD und LP, Gefördert von Michael Dimitrov, Stephan Wackwitz, Goethe-Institut Tbilisi, Kulturamt Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf und Initiative Musik]


Statement zur Produktion des Films von Pym Films 

Der Film dokumentiert die Genese der Aufnahmen und der Produktion einiger Musikstücke der Gruppe KREIDLER, die auf ihrem Album ABC im Mai 2014 veröffentlicht wurden. Gedreht wurden lange, beobachtende filmische Einstellungen. Die Aufnahmen haben vom 8. bis 12.  Oktober 2013 im Tonstudio des Georgischen Filmproduktions-Areals Kartuli Pilmi in Tiflis, Georgien, stattgefunden. Genutzt wurde ein großer, mit variablen Wänden ausgestatteter, holzgetäfelter Saal. Der Raum ist ehemals als ein Aufnahmestudio für ein Filmorchester konzipiert worden und diente auch als interner Vorführraum zur Filmabnahme durch die Zensurbehörde.

Aus den dokumentarischen Aufnahmen vom Zustandekommens der Musikstücke wurden etwa zwanzig Sequenzen ausgewählt, die das Rückgrat des Filmes bilden. Dazu gesellen sich „Inserts“, die vor und zwischen den musikalischen Sequenzen auftauchen. Diese Inserts bestehen aus zwei Elementen: Ein Grundelement sind dokumentarische Aufnahmen architektonischer Situationen in der Stadt Tiflis. Das zweite Element bilden Notizhefte, die filmtechnisch animiert durchgeblättert werden. Die Hefte sind von Heinz Emigholz im Laufe eines Jahres geschrieben und bebildert worden.

Grundgerüst des Films ist eine durchgehende Parallelmontage zwischen den Musikaufnahmen und den Stadt- und Notizheft-Inserts. Der Film ist insofern eine Replik auf Godards One Plus One, als der Hauptteil des Films wie dort aus der Dokumentation der Arbeit einer zeitgenössischen Musikgruppe besteht. Anstelle des plakativen, politpop-ideologischen Macramés in One Plus One, tritt in 2+2=22 [The Alphabet] ein objektivierendes Stadtportrait. „Propaganda“ ergibt sich dabei im Gegensatz zum Konstrukt Godards nicht aus gespielten Sketchen und Sarkasmen, sondern relativ zurückgenommen aus der Deklamation der städtischen Oberflächen gepaart mit Text-Bild-Collagen.

Der Film ist kein Werbefilm oder Musikclip für eine Pop-Gruppe, sondern erstellt eine neue Relation zwischen Musik und Dokumentation. Er kontrastiert die reale Arbeit an Musikstücken mit dokumentarischen Aufnahmen vom Ort ihrer Entstehung, einer ehemaligen Sowjet-Republik am südlichen Rand des Kaukasus, und poetischen Notaten eines eher westlich geprägten Kommentars. Die Beobachtung eines kollektiven, schöpferischen Prozesses und seiner Pausen steht im Mittelpunkt des Films. Rudimente von Wirklichkeit und ihrer Geräuschszenarien unterbrechen diese Studien, und poetische Deklamationen bilden dazu ideologische Gegenpole. Daß diese sich nicht mehr als allgemein politisch verständliche Sprache gerieren können, ist nur eine der Wahrheiten, die sich seit Erscheinen von One Plus One<